We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,997)
Filter reviews
1,997 results
Traveller rating
782
872
254
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
872
254
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gasworks bar aviva stadium theatre package dart station gas works orla kiely city centre theatre break bord gais theatre minute walk coffee machine lovely hotel bar food booked this hotel stayed here for one night reception staff lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,997 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We stayed here prior to and after a Vagabond/Driftwood tour.
Location is close to everything - Grand Canal Square, Aviva Stadium, Merrion Square, St. Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Trinity College. Quick walk to the Hop on, Hop off bus stop at Merrion Square. Hotel offers a lobby restaurant and a sports bar night door. It's also a quick walk to the Schoolhouse Restaurant behind the hotel.
We would definitely stay here again.
FYI - apparently most hotels in Ireland don't provide top sheets (I'm not sure why during summer months).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments about our hotel and the surrounding attractions. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us before going on your tour of Ireland which I hope you found enjoyable. We don't provide top sheets on our beds but should you or any of our guests in the future require extra sheets or other linen it is no problem for us to bring it.
I very much hope that you will be back in Ireland again and that you will come and visit us, in the meantime your review is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards

Donna Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This is an excellent hotel, convenient to any part of the city. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, there is good food at the restaurant or the pub, and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Dublin is a busy place, and this hotel was kind of an oasis in the city.

Room Tip: I didn't hear any complaints about rooms at all.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mario N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018


Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to read your kind comments about the staff at the hotel. I am thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I very much hope that you will be back to stay with us again in the future.
In the meantime thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, your description of the hotel and food is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards

Donna Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Nice sized rooms, good location to walk to all attractions
Restaurant options are excellent within 2 blocks
On the canal great quiet neighborhood walking path along canal
much nicer area than Temple Bar to stay

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Arden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and liked the location. It is great that you found it to be to your liking, as you mention we are right beside the lovely Beggar's Bush and not far from the Canal Dock, each with their own charm and lots of lively pubs and restaurants. I very much hope that you will be back to stay with us again in the very near future. In the meantime, thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
Kind Regards

Donna Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for several years and over that time it had improved tremendously. It can be very hard to book a room so always book a month before your visit. Really good bar and food, buffet and breakfast, modern bedrooms all with TVs, Wi-fi and safe for your valuables. You can always get s taxi outside to Temple Bar or a trip to the theatre all within easy reach. The Avila stadium is just down the road for the rugby fans. Across the road there is the Dart station taking you north, south, east and west of Dublin.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,
I am absolutely delighted to read your very kind comments about the hotel. It is great that you find the food in the bar and restaurant to be to your liking and that the location appeals to you. I very much hope that you will be staying with us for many more years to come. In the meantime thank you for taking your time to review our hotel, all of our reviews mean a lot to us but particularly when a regular guest reviews our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards

Donna Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We arrived a bit early and they held our luggage while we went about town. Room was great, service wonderful, location ideal to many attractions to walk to. All hotels seem to provide hair dryers. Highly recommend. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank magoos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you chose to stay with us for your recent visit to Dublin, and that you were happy with your choice. It is great that you found the location to be to your liking and were able to walk to all of the nearby attractions. It is fantastic to read that you thought the service was wonderful. I very much hope that you will be back to stay with us in the near future, in the meantime thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
Kind Regards

Donna Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews