We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Very Cheap and close to the City.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here a few times, nice hotel. All rooms are the same. Tea/Coffee facilities. Bath/shower. Beds are ok. Close to the Luas and major bus routed into the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weekesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Hi Weekesian,

Thank you for your kind review.

We look forward to seeing you again in he near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 379 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Hotel is in good location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This Hotel needs an urgent update. Everything in the room need to be changed. Beds were old. Bed linen was dirty. But overall we where in Dublin for a night out, so the Hotel met our criteria :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Hi LNDS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Travelodge Rathmines.

We appreciate your nice comments about our Staff and also your comment on our need to update the premises. We are in the process of updating the premises so on you next visit you will see our improvements.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in November for 5 nights. Firstly the distance from the city centre is walkable (approx 25 mins), but the bus service is excellent. We bought pre paid tickets at the airport which allowed us to jump on and off buses throughout the city. Well worth it in my opinion. Makes the journey to the city in less than 10 mins
The hotel is situated on the main road and bus stops are ideally situated. Rathmines itself has a few shops. Aldi, Lidl and Tescos all close by plus a mix of other shops, cafes, take aways etc.
Everything is on the doorstep that you would probably need for a short stay.
The hotel itself seemed in decent condition. The room we had was at the back of the hotel. It was quiet and reasonably clean and fairly spacious.The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The city itself as im sure everyone is aware isnt the cheapest but if you search around you can find decent quality for a reasonable price. We found a great little Italian restauarant just off Grafton Street (think it was the Steps of Rome?). A fantastic sandwich shop (Tasties) and a handy chipper just ten mins walk from hotel (Apriles). Pubs can be expensive but as anyone with experience of Dublin would know, the touristy areas such as Temple Bar will make it an expensive night out. So i tend to avoid these areas. The Foggy Dew hoiwever is close by and is a nice lively bar and prices are ok. I tend to drink by the Quays where you can get a pint of the Black Stuff for 4 euros. Fibbers is great if you dont mind loud rock music. The best of the tourist attractions has to be the Guinness brewery, Very reasonably priced and you get a free pint at the end.
Overall a great trip and i wouldnt hesitate going back to Travelodge at Rathmines on my next venture across the water

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Hi S M,

Many thanks for your very kind review.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We also thought this hotel would be within walking distance to the outskirts of Dublin centre but is actually a good 30 minute walk away. Usually Travelodges are, in a good way, to the same basic standard as one another and one is usually unable to differentiate between each hotel. This hotel was of an unusally poor standard. Our room was extremely dirty and smelly. It was tiny with nowhere to store a bag. I couldn't even have a shower in the tiny shower cubicle protected by a dirty curtain as I would have felt more dirty afterwards! Corridor carpets had some very dodgy stains on them. Parking needs to be prearranged to use the underground secure carpark. Bags need to be walked some distance from the car to the hotel. I know Travelodges are cheap but this standard was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniebelle_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

hi Anniebelle_2009,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Since your stay with us a year ago this property has undergone several changes including the hall carpets which you mentioned.

Unfortunately the car park is not under our control. As these are spaces we rent from another property we cannot gain direct access from the hotel so the 2 minute walk to the reception door is necessary.

I hope you will stay with us here in Travelodge Rathmines again where you can see the many changes we have implemented since your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is ok if you manage to get it when Travel Lodge have the £10 room sale on. We paid £20 per night for a double room - so cant moan about that! The room and the whole hotel reaked of smoke (am not sure what the smoking policy is in Ireland, but the coridors and everywhere smelt. As none smokers who requested a non smoking room this really put us off. The curtains also has fag burns in them. Other that that the hotel was good and the staff helpful. Dont be fooled by the 'Travel Lodge City Centre' name either, it is close but i wouldnt say city centre. Turn left out of the hotel and walk 15/20mins will bring you to Grafton Street - Great for shopping, Pandora, LV, Prada, Topshop, Monsoon etc. O'Connell Street is about a 30 min walk away but you go via Grafton street so not far at all when you are in and out of shops. Their is a Lidle and Aldi on the hotel door step so good for getting bits and bobs, along with a Domino's and various other takeaways. Taxi from the airport will set you back 30e - 40e each way depending on traffic and days of the week. the best thing to do is get a return bus ticket for 10e - bargain! Their is bus stops all over the place and its easy to see what time the bus is. the bus doesnt take notes thou so have plently of change on you! I recomend the Guiness Store House and the Jamesons distillery. Will defo go back to Dublin but maybe not the Travel Lodge. P.S drinks in Temple Bar are a complete rip off 7e a pint! Can get just as nice pubs/entertainment a bit further out with normal priced drinks ")

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatty_Tanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Hi Tatty-Tanton,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property.

This property I am delighted to say will be a Non Smoking building from April 1st 2012.

Currently in our property we do offer a select number of smoking rooms. We confine these rooms to a seperated area, this we do so we can eliminate the smell of smoke through the building. Also our staff complete corridor walks at regular intervals to ensure smoking is not occurring in any other part of the property.

I do apologise that on this occasion that you felt the property smelt of smoke.

We do hope however that with the news of this property becoming a fully no smoking building you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
776 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €92 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing