We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a great experience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a great experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I read a number of reviews on this site before booking. I had read the comments from the hotel regarding renovations and I most certainly did not have a renovated room.
The matress was very lumpy, I could feel the springs.
The white grout between the tiles was black in the bathroom and some of the tiles had come loose. The sealant around the bath had also gone black in places.
I arrived in the city early so I dropped in my bags at around 1130 and the lady on the desk was very friendly and helpful. I advised her that I would be checking in quite late as I had a number of things to do in the city.
When I did check in after 2200 the staff were very unfriendly and quite abrupt. They certainly did not make me feel welcome.
On the plus side, the location of the hotel is very good. If you don't fancy walking into the city centre, this is a bus stop right outside with a very regular bus service. Taxis arent too dear either. Also I had read about the noise of bells and I did not find that to be intrusive at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOLoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi Agentblue100,

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as you would have wished here in Travelodge.

I would appreciate if you could email me directly as I would like here the full details of your stay with us and look into the matter further. My email address is michelle.gaffney@travelodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    151
    142
    60
    51
See reviews for
52
170
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is one of the friendliest hotels we ever stayed in. So clean, rooms are spotless and bathrooms - ensuite. Quiet. Close to everything, restaurants, bars, city center, public transport. The staff are so accommodating, friendly and know everything about the area and the city - at any time of the day or night.

Room Tip: If you really like quiet (that is, do not want to hear the normal street sounds - ask for a courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about our hotel and for your very complimentary words.

I am delighted to see you found our staff to be so friendly and knowledgable and also our rooms to be so clean. I have passed your lovely comments on to all our staff who find great encouragement from nice comments like these.

I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Located in south Dublin inner city this hotel is ideal for those on business or pleasure looking for good quality accomodation at the right price.The rooms are clean and functional and the staff are competent and helpfull and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone looking for value with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don1dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review.

I am delighted to see you would have no hesitation in recommending our hotel to others.

A review like this highlights to our staff that their good work is been both noticed and appreciated and I thank you for this.

We look forward to seing you again in our hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The staff at this Hotel are second to non....Friendly, Helpful and know the meaning of Excellent Customer Service.
The rooms are very clean and comfotable, with Tea and coffee supplies etc being replenished daily.
I stayed in many Hotels in Dublin until I discovered Travelodge Rathmines, and now I stay here every visit....which is every 6 weeks!!
The Hotel is a 20 minute stroll from the city centre so avoids all the inner city noise which is a real bonus!.
All in all first class!! Well done to the Management and great staff for making me feel so welcome..a real home from home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about our hotel and indeed for you very kind words.

I am delighted to see you rate our Hotel in such high regard. I have passed your lovely comments on to all our staff who find great encouragement from such great comments like these.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We knew when booking a travelodge that the hotel was not going to be "out of this world" but the travelodge at Rathmines is awful. It is much further out of the ciy centre than it says. We spent most of our weekend on a bus travelling to and from the city centre. The hotel itself is old, outdated and very, very basic. The room looked like it had never been cleaned, the furniture was stained and old and the bathroom was very dingy and dirty. We definitley did not get value for money.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra, stay in the city and do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joejlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not find your stay with us to be satisfactory.

We are working hard to improve the standard of our hotel and a lot of refurbishment is being completed.

I do apologise for that the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Uppercross House Hotel
#80 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portobello Hotel
#106 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#97 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#76 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotelopia so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travel Lodge
Dublin Travelodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing