We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This tour ticks every box: intelligent, informative, witty, value for money etc” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historical Walking Tours of Dublin

Historical Walking Tours of Dublin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.05*
and up
Dublin Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 214 Tours in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's longest established walking tour business (1986). In just over 2 hours this award-winning and entertaining 'seminar on the street' conducted by history post-graduates explores the main features of Irish history—Dublin's development, the influence of the American and French Revolutions, the Potato Famine 1845-49, the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence, partition—and concludes with the Northern Ireland peace process and the rise and fall of the 'Celtic Tiger'.Cost: €12pp, €10 students/seniors
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This tour ticks every box: intelligent, informative, witty, value for money etc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband (German) and I (Irish) enjoyed a historical walk on Sun Nov 20th. The tour is superb managing to give an excellent overview of Irish history and the development of Ireland as it is today.. The explanations around the emergence of Irish Nationalism and why this was not synonymous with Irish Catholicism are first class. This tour is a must for any visitor to Dublin. In addition we got great tips re what to see and do in and around the venues visited. The best component of the tour is the wit and turn of phrase of the guide. This is as good as it gets!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DervDuesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    67
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great, sincere, historical background of the city by history majors from Trinity college”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The tour was amazing. It's given by history majors from Trinity college, and our particular guide, Gavin, gave us a thorough background of Trinity College, the Central Bank, Temple Bar, City Hall and the Castle. A bit tangential at times, his spontaneity made the visit all the more sincere, as he hesitated not to give not only his opinion of current Irish politics but also the little tid bits of Irish history which he would happen to remember as we passed by things. Not only that, he showed us where to get great coffee from the Temple Bar market, where we stopped for a nice break.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical Tours by trinity Phds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

this tour is conducted by Trinity college Phd's. We enjoyed a wonderful tour of Dublin with a funny highly opinonated docent who illuminated historical Dublin as wells contemporay Dublin.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
1 review
“A visit of Ireland history in two hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

It is a great tour in which you will learn about Ireland history in the perfect scenario.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laureano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The tour with everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

A brilliant overview of Irish and Dublin history from the Vikings through to the present day economic troubles. John gave a very articulate account of our colourful history whilst allowing time for every question and wistful remark. He mixed humourous tangents with serious history lessons to achieve a thoroughly enjoyable 2.5hr tour. As an Irish native I found it a great refresher course on my hazy history. John applied a 'not too little, not too much' approach for nationals hearing our story for possibly the first time. A story which I was proud to be a fly on the wall to hear.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eoghan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historical Walking Tours of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Historical Walking Tours of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing