We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbott Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbott Lodge
Ranked #137 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Arrived at reception and felt welcomed! Got into room and very pleased with how modern and clean it was the floor did seem to be a bit on a slope but that's character! The climb up the stairs seemed a bit of hard work but what do you expect in these buildings! Breakfast was delicious the lady serving was efficient but a little short, reception staff are lovely. Will be staying again very decent rate too

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani-matty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    58
    93
    61
    66
See reviews for
41
141
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Its horrible dirty- noisy- smelly- souless- cramped.
Its near to Town,but so are thousands of other better places.
Looks absolutly nothing like the photos and in all honesty because of its cheap prices attracts drunks,fighting stag/hen parties and people who smoke on the doorstep til 4am being very very noisy.
Dont say you havnt been warned! Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Simple,dont choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Nice place to stay for a long weekend, friendly staff, lovely breakfast and a good location for main attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wazza616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

My family and i stayed at the abbott lodge guesthouse in september.
we really felt at home when we checked in here. rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious,great range of food and cereal to choose from. The staff were so helpful and friendly.
I would highly recommend this guesthouse to my friends who wish to take in the sights that Dublin has to offer. It is close to the city centre and within walking distance of the famous Temple Bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I spent six nights September 10-15, 2011 at The Abbott Lodge as a solo traveler. The location
was perfect for my purposes, and I really liked the staff especially Noel and Pat. Noel was able to give me a very comfortable room on the ground floor away from the noise of the street. All of the men at the front desk were very helpful and pleasant. The women who cooked and served the breakfasts were fast and charming. I would recommend this guesthouse to my friends. It is moderately priced and really well located.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PATRIICIA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Durban Residence
#98 of 160 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Glen Guesthouse
#102 of 160 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 160 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Hazelbrook House B&B
#125 of 160 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbott Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott Lodge

Property: Abbott Lodge
Address: 88 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbott Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbott Lodge is an excellent example of Georgian craftsmanship and it has been tastefully updated to cater for the needs of the modern traveller. Abbott Lodge's budget accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms, tea and coffee making facilities WiFi, flat screen TVs, personal service and 24/7 reception for your convenience. While we do not provide breakfast a variety of restaurants in the vicinity offer a wide choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbott Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott Lodge Guest House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing