We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Vagabond Tours’ 5 Day Vagabond Edge of the World Tour

My wife & I loved & treasure our adventure on the 5 Day Vagabond Edge of the World Tour, which was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Alan G
The Best of Ireland in Eleven Days

My wife and I took two “adventure” tours with Vagabond in 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the... read more

Reviewed 31 December 2023
Gregory W
Read all 1,207 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from €78.00
More Info
from €30.00
More Info
from €899.00
More Info
from €389.00
More Info
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
1,186
15
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,186
15
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group tour wild irish rover world tour day tour northern ireland irish adventure dingle bay gougane barra hotel active tour sea kayaking guide tim sheep farm killarney national park large coach amazing adventure north tour big bus tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2022

What a fantastic tour and tour guide! If you ever decide to take a tour of Ireland, this is the company to take it with! Our tour guide, Andrew, was early getting to the pick up location and loaded everyone's luggage onto the bus. When we boarded, he recommended everyone wear a mask and told us he constantly sanitized the bus and he did. He showed us the hand sanitizer bottle at the front of the bus too.

He started the tour with some Irish history and some light-hearted humor. He grew up in Ireland and knew the country well. He taught us some Irish words and played Irish music during some of the trip. We generally had plenty of time to visit in the cities we stopped at. One time, Andrew purchased a container of fresh Wexford strawberries that he passed to everyone in the bus to eat. He paid for these from his own money.

Our hotels were very nice. There was only one problem with not being able to stay in one of the hotels and a few of the restaurants he planned on taking us to for lunch were closed so he spoke with the owner of the company and we were bought a wonderful and expensive dinner to compensate.

One of the passengers had a physical handicap that occasionally required him to be in a wheelchair. Andrew volunteered to push him in the wheelchair to each of the sights so he wouldn't miss out and his mom didn't have to push him up the steep inclines.

The group was small and we ended up making friends with the other people, so much that we got together at pubs and restaurants as a group several times. Andrew also shared with us pictures of us that took during the tour. His photographic skills are excellent and those pictures he shared added greatly to our trip! Thank you Andrew!!

Not only would I book another Driftwood tour but I'd request Andrew to be the tour guide!

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank rochelles442
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robrankinvagabond, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hi Rochelle,

Thanks a million for your 5 star review.

It's fantastic to hear you had a great time on tour with Andrew. We do take the Covid situation very seriously and we are constantly encouraging guests to be as safe as possible. Andrew is a great guide and wonderful storyteller. You can't beat Wexford strawberries on the road!

We do our best to make up for any itinerary changes. We're delighted you enjoyed the dinner.

Thanks again for a wonderful review, we really appreciate it. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022

My sister and I originally planned to go on the Rick Steves tour but when we found Vagabond we quickly changed our minds. Good thing too, because this 12-day adventure was perfect! We couldn't have asked for a better tour group or a more experienced tour guide. Sean made a point to get to know everyone and kept us all entertained throughout our trip with his stories. What my sister and I loved most about this tour was that it was off the beaten path. Yes, we went to touristy spots, but for the most part, we went to areas that not even the locals had been to. For instance, on the second to last day, we went to this castle ruin where were had a picnic. Sean made us hot chocolate and Irish coffee and brought a cake to celebrate all the June birthdays. It was craic, as they like to say. Of course, there is so much more I can say about our trip, but then this would be extremely long ahaha. I would definitely do another tour with Vagabond and highly recommend anyone interested in having an adventure of a lifetime to go.

Date of experience: June 2022
1  Thank galinagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robrankinvagabond, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hi Galina,

Firstly, thanks a million for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 12 Day Giant Irish Adventure Tour with Sean. It's so important to go off the beaten path so you can experience the real Ireland. That sounds like a fantastic picnic that you had, you can't beat hot chocolate with a view!

Thanks again for your great review and recommendation. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022

It was the adventure of a lifetime. When the Rick Steves' tour was requiring that we be vaccinated and boosted against our comfort level, we decided to go with the Vagabond 12 day Irish Tour, and it was everything we could have asked for! It was a very small group, which allowed us to really get to know each other, with a wonderful tour guide who was fun, knowledgeable, kind, and had all the greatest recommendations for us. It's a fast-paced and very active trip, and we saw so many beautiful sites--off the beaten track--that were not stereotypical or touristy, and even that a lot of the locals hadn't seen. It was also very affordable. Thank you, Vagabond Tours for the life-changing trip!

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank 647arianaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robrankinvagabond, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

Hi Ariana,

Thanks a million for your great 5 star review. We really appreciate you sharing your experience.

We're delighted to hear that you had a great time on tour. 12 days really gives you a great insight into the country and culture. Getting to know your fellow guests is one of the best things about a small group tour. Life long friends are made on tour! It's so important to get off the beaten track and experience the real Ireland, we're delighted you enjoyed it all.

Thank you for choosing Vagabond. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2022

I recently completed Vagabond's "Driftwood 11 Day Discover Ireland Tour" with 12 friends coming from multiple countries. It was a very comprehensive tour of Ireland, and our guide, Andrew, couldn't have been more accommodating, knowledgeable and funny! It really hit all of the "hot spots" of the country.

Seeing so much of the country in just 11 days does have its downsides, which is that we moved around quite a bit (only two hotels for more than one night), spent a fair amount of time in the van and moved quickly through some of the stops. All that being said, it was a top-notch tour with a comfortable van, great hotels, hearty breakfasts & lots of guidance on what to see and do.

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank Wanderer214434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robrankinvagabond, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

Hi there, thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We're delighted that you had a good time with Andrew on tour. He's a great guide and a huge part of the team. It's great to hear you were comfortable in the bus and we're happy with your hotels and breakfasts. We do try to take you to see as much as we can while trying to keep the pace slow. Thank you for your feedback we will take it on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2022

I can't recommend this tour enough! We saw and went so many places we never would have found on our own! The small group size is so important and let us move quickly and go places the big tour buses can't go. It's hard to pick just one highlight because each place had its own beauty and magic to it. I already can't wait to get back to Ireland!

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank A9733PVemilyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robrankinvagabond, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

Hi there, thanks a million for taking the time to share your experience.

The small group is definitely the way to go. We love taking you off the beaten path so the small vehicle makes this easier. You also get to know your fellow guests which is another big plus! Ireland does make it hard to pick a favourite. We're delighted to hear you are planning on coming back.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews