We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ribbed out !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bison Bar and BBQ

Bison Bar and BBQ
Ranked #163 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ribbed out !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017

Busy spot so booked in to make sure we got a table. This place must be on every tourist itinerary out there. You have to be a meat lover to eat here, vegetarian options don't exist, so don't ask. The rack of Ribs is truly awesome. RECOMMENDED. Staff are excellent and keep things moving.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank girlsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    105
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Usually great bar but bad experience booking table”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017

I really like this bar but I had a very disappointing experience here when I tried to book a table for a friend's birthday. I booked the table 5 days in advance and asked for the window seats. When we arrived the staff had reserved a table for us OUTSIDE (temperature was around 0 Celcius) and in the SMOKING AREA. Their response was that the message that we wanted the window seats had been lost and that they had booked a different area. I feel if they didnt have a table inside and not in a smoking area they should absolutely have told me that and I would have booked elsewhere. Really messed up the birthday celebrations as we were all so cold. They didnt even offer anything (a drink for the birthday man) to make amends. Very disappointing and I wouldn't go here with a group again as I couldn't' trust the staff to get it right.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic BBQ food with genuine smoke infused meat! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Texas style food with plastic cutlery. But the smokeyness of the food was great. It is genuine smoked, flavour is pure. The Pulled Pork is possibly the best I have tested in a restaurant ever. Spicy, smoky and succulent. The waiters are very friendly and their whiskey selection in awesome! Being a grill master myself I applaud the cook. All the bbq'rs out there: go and taste the food... You will not be disappointed!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food and huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

The ribs were some of the best I have ever had - tender and full of flavour, the meat just fell of the bone. The portion was huge for the price so I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HaylesinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Meaty Feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

We had the taster plate and everything was delicious, great atmosphere, all the food was really tasty and we had the peach Melba which was gorgeous, wish that we had found this place on the start of our holiday rather than the last day as I would have tried everything.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bison Bar and BBQ also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bison Bar and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing