We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I went, Don't know weather I would go back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Cocktail Club

Vintage Cocktail Club
Ranked #127 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad I went, Don't know weather I would go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

I had read some reviews and heard some positive reports about this place before I decided to go. Loved the quaintness, loved the decor, loved walking up the creaking steps to be greeted pleasantly by Sine who informed us our table wasn't ready and that we can go up to the bar upstairs. This didn't bother me in the slightest as I think its all part of the laid back vibe of the place, what's the rush?

Unfortunately that's when things went a little downhill. There was no staff to be found in the upstairs bar when we walked in and seating was very limited. After about 15 mins we were given extensive menus to look through and a lovely girl served us and took our drinks order.

By the time this was all done we were seated at our table for food. The waiter who served us just seemed to let the place down a little. He always seemed frazzled. Forgot to give us food menus, when he did forgot to come back and take orders. When our food came down he forgot to give cutlery etc etc . I just felt the whole night was spent trying to get his attention to give us something we needed.

They also kept taking away the drinks menu which was a little frustrating as there was a lot to go through and limited time to look before you wanted to order another.

Overall the food, although limited in choice was very tasty, The cocktails were out of this world and the speed in which they were brought down is commendable,

I'm glad I experienced VCC but don't think I would go back based on the not quite up to scratch service.

  • Visited December 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    145
    39
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic night here with girlfriends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Great night here with girlfriends. Food was great and cocktails galore... each better than the last one!! Place is decorated really well. Really cosy. Very different.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank maggymaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hidden cocktail bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

I visited this cocktail bar with my girlfriend on a Monday evening in Dublin. Although I'd seen it marked on google maps, it wasn't until we were recommended it by a person working in a restaurant that we took the plunge. To be honest I doubt I would have found it just using Google Maps.

The initials VCC on the door gave us a clue we had the right place, but nothing about it screamed cocktail bar. We rang the doorbell, twice, and eventually we were allowed in. We were asked if we'd booked (apparently this is advisable) but we hadn't and were told we could go to the "terrace", thankfully it was indoor.

It was really nicely decorated inside, laid out like a speakeasy. Fortunately there was a space left for us to sit down as it was fairly busy. We had a couple of rounds of cocktails and there was lots of choice. Cocktails are no cheaper than €10 but were good.

There was table service, but as with most cocktail places: only one person was making them so it was a little slow.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wardms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“An experience to try ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

A little hidden cocktail bar off Temple Bar in Dublin. We did it for the experience. Since it's hidden and by reservation only, we had to try it.
The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. Very mid-1900s style setup. The staff was very friendly and very well dressed.
Adults only bar.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“What's not to love?! 🍹”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We have visited now several times when in Dublin and always found the place to have a great atmosphere, serving fabulous cocktails in an intimate setting. Our last visit we ordered several small plates to nibble on and they were all excellent too. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintage Cocktail Club also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Cocktail Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing