We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A genuine bucket-list experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sceal Eile

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Moving down the Central Line
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
The Marina photo by C.Nolan
Living Room
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sceal Eile Cruising down the Central Line
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Building
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
bath and shower
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Paddle Boarding in the Outer Basin
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
The Building
bathroom
Living Room
The Four Person Bedroom
sofabed
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
The Building
Moorhen Nesting on The Grand Canal
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Waterfront Cafe
The Building
Living Room
The Building
Bolands Mill
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Bord Gais Energy Theatre
The Four Person Bedroom
Lock 3
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Scéal Eile moored in the Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TA_Brian
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A genuine bucket-list experience”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I was thrilled to happen upon the listing for this barge, and happily spent three nights aboard while in Dublin for business in the nearby docklands office area. Incredibly convenient location for work, and very handy for access to Dublin's top sights too.

the owners provide a very informative video after booking, and the video and all communications from the owners should be viewed, as this is quite different from staying in a hotel, which may seem obvious, but until you're on board in the dark, you might not realize just how different. so study up!

the boat is very comfortable, and much more spacious than the photos reveal. I was in Dublin during a warm spell, so didn't need to light the coal stove.

all in all , a fun trip, and hope to return in summer and experience the canal cruise as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fsujenn
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Above and beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling in Europe as a family of four can be expensive. I chose this house boat because the price was extremely reasonable, and I knew my children (8 and 3) would love it. What I didn't expect was how fantastic the owners would be. The barge was the perfect size, with a cozy living room, kitchen, full bath, and a bedroom! Trish, the owner, met us at the barge. After showing us the ends and out of the boat, I asked where we could pick up a booster seat (we had paid for a tour, but afterwards they told us we had to provide our own booster for our son). Trish said no problem and loaned us one of her own seats. Later on, her husband dropped off a bag of toys for my children. They of course loved the toys and the swans that greeted them every morning. We loved being able to put the children to bed in their own beds (bunks), while we enjoyed a glass of wine in the living room by the fire. The location is on the bus line, next to an amazing coffee shop, and across the street from a grocery store. It took us 20 minutes to walk to Trinity College from here. The trip was fabulous, and so was our stay here. Thank you to Trish and her husband for the perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- price, peacefulness, and the space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe B
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect short break in Dublin”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We wanted to visit Dublin and also wanted to experience a canal boat. Sceal Eile had everything we needed in an ideal location. When we wanted to see the sights it was only a 15 minute walk to Temple Bar and we wanted to relax it was a perfect setting. It even had a full size bath!
We met Trish on arrival along with her children who were most welcoming and we felt reassured that if we needed them we could contact them at any time. Although we didn't take Sceal Eile out on the Canal due to a shoulder injury it would be something that we would love to do in the future.
And finally if you are after a relaxing break in the heart of Dublin you should consider staying aboard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint and cozy comfort with a convenient location and a bit of adventure thrown in for good measure.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a wonderful and charming place to stay. The barge is remarkably spacious and well equipped and the comfortable bed gets a five star review all to itself. Trish and Mick the owners couldn't have been more helpful and accomodating (where else would you get your own YouTube video showing how the features and facilities worked). The mini canal cruise was a complete joy and the whole barge experience made out Dublin stay into something truly unique and magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy lovely barge experience.
Liked least: Hard to find any faults, though you do need to keep in mind that this isn't a luxury serviced apartment!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layla6202
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My spouse and I reserved the Sceal Eile for our first visit to Ireland. New country to visit? Sure. Why not also make it a new experience and stay on a river barge in lieu of a hotel too? That was our line of thinking any way. It turned out to be a great idea. One that left us with a unique experience and memories we can never replace.

Tidbits:
We have a camper back in the USA; therefore, we were okay with some of the quirks of barge living: igniting the hot water heater, turning on the bilge pump when using the shower, etc. But even if you've never camped before, you will get the hang of these tasks in no time.

Falling asleep while being rocked by the lapping water against the barge is a unique experience everyone should try at least once.

Another unique experience of renting the barge: the boys that suit up in wet suits, their underwear, or nothing (yes, as in naked!), and jump off the nearby bridge and surrounding buildings, and into the canals. We saw it as free entertainment; where else can you go and watch that while enjoying croissants and coffee on the outside barge seating?

Best things about the barge stay: location, location, location. We were in what felt like a safe area where we could walk to everything we needed: food, laundry, parking garage (for when we did finally rent a car to explore the rest of Ireland), bike rentals, buses, Trinity College, and other sites....you name it, we could pretty much access it from here. Also, the location of the barge has guards during the day, and is behind two locked gates at all times; therefore, again, you feel safe. Another great thing: Trish, the owner. She was there exactly when she said she would be to greett us, answered all of my many questions before we even arrived (and those after we arrived to), gave us the overview of how everything worked, left maps and other pamphlets that tourists like us might need, provided us with excellent traveling advice for when we ventured North to explore the Antrim County area, and when an emergency did arise, her husband, Mick, came over right away to square things and make them right. Excellent hosts.

The cons: the barge is at the end of the Quay, near the road; therefore, there is a bit of road and pedestrian noise in the summer when your windows are open, and it makes it difficult to sleep.

Overview:
If you are looking at this review and wondering: should I or shouldn't I book this? The answer is yes. Yes, you absolutely should. It's a one of a kind experience. I doubt you'll be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Looking out the windows and being almost at eye level with the water.
Liked least: The road and pedestrian noise at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing