We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Outstanding experience of County Wicklow

We took a day tour of County Wicklow with Michael. He picked us up precisely on time at the door of... read more

Reviewed 19 May 2024
cynthiasL329CR
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Newgrange passage tomb, Slane Castle distillery and Celtic crosses

My son Connor and I were picked up promptly at our central Dublin hotel and taken to our ancestors... read more

Reviewed 15 April 2024
Lynn V
,
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Read all 113 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
113
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
113
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boyne valley michael fox celtic crosses personalized tour his knowledge knowledgeable guide great tour grange tailored ireland ancestors itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We toured with Michael to the Boyne Valley on our first day in Ireland, and we ended our visit days later with a tour to Wicklow. Michael can be absolutely trusted to communicate fully and promptly with you while planning your day. He also makes it easy by picking you up directly from your hotel. Wicklow is one of the more beautiful settings in Ireland and Michael drives you through the countryside, providing commentary on its history and sights. Stops are made for pictures and to see various sites up close as well as a break for a lovely lunch. We ended our day with a ride back to Dublin along the beautiful coastline, with a stop at an isolated little beach. The tour can absolutely be tailored to your own personal wishes. We highly recommend spending a day with Michael on any tour that he offers!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank nicknancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Our guide Trevor was knowledgeable and presented information in an entertaining manner.
The trip was far greater than anything we could have done on our own.
Full points for our bus driver too.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2016

My son and I spent a week in Dublin, but wanted to get out of the city to see some some "sites that would be interesting for a teenager and his Mom." Michael Fox took us on a tour that included Newgrange, the Celtic Crosses at Monasterboice, the Hill of Slane, Trim Castle, Bective Abbey, and several other sites within the Boyne Valley. Michael was extremely knowledgeable about every place he took us and the history surrounding the region. He created a truly fun, educational, and very enjoyable day. Michael picked us up at our hotel in the morning, and dropped us back off in the evening. Had I rented a car and attempted to see the sites myself, I'm quite sure we wouldn't have seen half of what Michael showed us, nor would we have experienced the history, knowledge, and hospitality that Michael shared. Make sure to bring clothing/umbrellas suitable for every type of weather. We went from long sleeves to raincoats and umbrellas to short sleeves and sunglasses during the course of our one-day tour in July.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Lovestoroam1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Michael collected us from our hotel in Dublin in the morning and we were off! He really tailored the day to OUR interests, as well as covering the major sites in the Boyne Valley.
Textiles and yarn took us to a sheep farm, and a textile artist, the lovely Bernadette whose hospitality was so appreciated. Interest in wood flooring and tools took us to hardware stores. Michael was a true historian and taught us about the history of each of the sites we visited. This day truly was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. We have such fond memories of the day, and would highly recommend treating yourself to one of Michaels tours.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank easygroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Boyne Valley with our guide Michael Fox. He picked us up at our hotel in Dublin and showed us the main monuments and sites of the valley. We spent the whole day touring, guided by the very friendly and knowledge Michael. We highly recommend taking av tour with him.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank livejohannessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews