We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude front bar maid!”
Review of The Celt Pub

The Celt Pub
Ranked #197 of 2,906 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Connected with The Celtic Lodge and Le Bon Crubeen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner attempted to visit this establishment today and were met with great hostility. The woman presented herself in a snide and rude manner. When my partner attempted to present a photo of his passport for ID (this MAN is 20 years old), she was very rude and refused to even read his details, which matched his Covid cert exactly! She point blank refused to deal with us and could be heard making remarks about my partner as we walked away. From someone that works in a bar, I found this to be extremely unprofessional. However, judging from other reviews, it would appear that people do not appreciate this member of staff either! Would not recommend.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Place was packed. No people wearing masks. No covid certs checked. Bar service was allowed. More than six people at table was allowed. Place was so packed you could not even move. Went on Saturday the 18th of December. Really think they should put covid guidelines in place because this is where I got covid.

Date of visit: December 2021
1  Thank ek540
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2021 via mobile

We’ve been to this place to have a good time… and it’s been like this… until the bill arrived.
We were 6 friends and we weren’t told that from 6 pax you can’t pay separately as well as we weren’t told about the 10% service charge (written with a pen in the bill… really?).
If you have this clause and you see 6 people sit down you were supposed to say it before you take the order, that’s pretty logical.
Other than that we had been there before and we were more than 6 and we paid separately.
In the end we managed to pay separately… but then the lady in the register, a full xenophobic one, asked us where we were from… when we answered saying that some were from Spain and others from Italy she said: “it’s the same” with a disgusted and greedy face.
This is completely non acceptable, xenophobic and racist.
You should really behave in a better way and learn how to stay in a world that’s going globally faster than you guys from the Celt pub can solve a simple issue as paying separately.
Cheers.

Date of visit: December 2021
2  Thank custodiosilvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2021

living on a sailboat like my wife and i do we like to eat in ports we visit along with our crew ,so we selected this pub ,it was a great choice ,great music

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank svvikingexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 November 2021 via mobile

We went here for different purposes across a weekend. One night they had a live musician, singing and drinks flying off the bar. The next day we had dinner here. We had the chicken and the burger, both wonderful! The chicken was juicy with crispy skin and the burger was flavorfull. Lastly we were here an afternoon to grab a beer and a coffee.
The prices are fair.
The place is packed most nights.
Food is good.
A+ atmosphere.
It's crowded, the bathrooms are not often cleaned and you might be spat on by Irishmen singing and rocking on their shairs. To me, that is the way it should be.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank 495camillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Celt Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Celt Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.