We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great course - very underated”

Royal Dublin Golf Club
Ranked #45 of 116 Outdoor Activities in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A very warm welcome to one of Ireland's finest golf links. We have history and wonderful golfing tradition here - but better than that, we have a fabulous golfing challenge over a magnificent links course. And when the golf is done, our clubhouse offers the ideal place for enjoyable relaxation. Our visitors are always welcomed by our friendly staff and we look forward to your visit to our Club. Located on Bull Island, which also houses a bird sanctuary and nature reserves, this golf course is one of the oldest in Ireland, dating back to 1885.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Played 8 Irish courses over 10 days

of the east coast 3 we played - Old Portmarnock, European and this one - I enjoyed this the most.

Amazing setting on an island close to city.

Course great to play on - first 3 are ok - but then it really gets going - tight fairways and tricky links green complexes

back 9 has wider fairways but still very tough - over 7300 off the back

2  Thank 388gerryos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalDublin G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Dublin Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the Royal Dublin Golf Club and thank you for such a lovely review. Bull island is an incredibly unique setting and we feel very blessed to be located here. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"links course"
in 14 reviews
"pro shop"
in 8 reviews
"links golf"
in 3 reviews
"true links"
in 3 reviews
"in great shape"
in 3 reviews
"dublin area"
in 2 reviews
"fairways"
in 6 reviews
"bunker"
in 5 reviews
"caddies"
in 4 reviews
"challenging"
in 8 reviews
"downwind"
in 2 reviews
"track"
in 2 reviews
"ireland"
in 10 reviews
"guinness"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

A beautiful links course. Very well-maintained. Staff was very accommodating and in the pro shop and in the bar. Nice selection of clothing. We rented clubs and a golf buggy. It was a fantastic course and a great experience.

2  Thank LRE4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Our first day in Ireland and we checked into the Royal Dublin. The staff greeted us and ensured our bags were taken to the room where the amenities were well explained.
The room was larger than normal with great views and peaceful.
Dining options were plentiful and reasonably priced, we only wished we had more time to stay.
Would definitely return when back in Dublin.

Thank WayneAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

This course is a must visit. A superb links course 20 minutes from the city centre. Friendly staff good food good beer afterwards. A flat course so suits all ages.

1  Thank keithcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalDublin G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Dublin Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words about the Royal Dublin Golf Club. We really appreciate it and hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Party of 12, pre booked, warm welcome both inside the club house and the pro shop. Good bar service before we ventured out, with the Guinness inspiring us onto the 1st.
Excellent course and it's one of our favourites when we come over to play once a year, not easy, but attractive to all levels of golfer. It's totally understandable that,it's in the top 50 of golf courses in Ireland and I'm sure will strengthen. 5,star golf.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalDublin G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Dublin Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the Royal Dublin Golf Club. Thank you for such a lovely review and the fact that you count us amongst your favourite means the world to us. We look forward to welcoming you back here next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Dublin Golf Club also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Royal Dublin Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing