We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stayed in better but not bad overall”
Review of Jacobs Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I've stayed in better but not bad overall”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Clean, we stayed in a 4bed private at €16 each. I was delighted with the room but found the mattress very hard and have had a bad back since I stayed there over a week ago. As someone who has stayed in many hostels I've had better breakfasts. Only toast on offer. I would say this hostel suits young travellers with no back trouble. Don't listen to any review complaing about the area. As Dublin goes, its in a great location

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sineadthegrenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    813
    223
    68
    53
See reviews for
148
214
538
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my debating society from university. The rooms were spacious; our room had 12 beds with one toilet, two sinks and one shower. I suppose this arrangement was okay for us as we all knew each other, but if it had been strangers, it would've been a different story. Overall, the room was very clean, linen was fresh (though the pillows were wafer thin).

All doors are opened by keycard, which become void after midnight each night and need to be re-validated by reception.

A word of caution to those not familiar with Dublin: Talbot St and the surrounding area can be dangerous at night. I'd advise not walking alone at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishTraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

It was a great play to stay for 7 girls travelling together on a city break vacation. Very clean, cheap, free breakfast, internet on the ground floor, shower and toilet in the room (very clean and with hot water all the time). I can't find one bad thing to say about the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed here twice (once for 3 nights, and once for one night) either side of an Ireland-wide tour. As a young woman travelling alone all the way from Australia I found Jacobs to be an awesome place to stay! SO close to the bus station and a very short walk from the city. Free internet was great when it worked! Used to to Skype home all the time. Free breakfast was fine, very simple - but free!! I stayed in the all-female dorm and never had an issue waiting for showers. Very clean. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBlonde-ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalajoki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Took a group of 16 highschool students to Dublin for a week and stayed here. Just a great place to be! Clean, safe, central with honestly helpful staff ! Students also had a great time. I will be using this hostel again! You would think that after a week one would have found some faults but to be honest just a great place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalajokikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.8 km away
Generator Hostel Dublin
0.1 km away
Isaacs Hostel
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Inn Hostel

Property: Jacobs Inn Hostel
Address: Jacobs Inn 21 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacobs Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station,the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are Private Ensuite Rooms sleeping from 1-4 people and spacious Ensuite Dormitories sleeping 6-12. Temple Bar is a twelve minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel.Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge and common areas, Games Room 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Roof top terrace, Movie and Games Nights ,Friendly staff, great craic and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacobs Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing