We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL place to stay in Dublin!”
Review of Tinode House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tinode House
Ranked #8 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tinode House is a perfect place to stay for several days of visiting Dublin. Located between the airport and downtown, it is very easy to get to either by bus. PJ and Maureen are delightful hosts and are extremely helpful with information. PJ can tell you to the minute when the bus will come, and the town-bound bus stop is right in front of the house (the airport-bound bus is just a little further). The rooms are lovely and very comfortable, and breakfast is delightful and more than adequate. Our group of four found it especially nice to be close to the city but not right in it. The ride from Tinode House to the heart of downtown is less than 15 minutes. There is a very nice pub just a short walk from Tinode House, should you want to have dinner in the area. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from Dublin and had two lovely rooms at Tinode House (twin/no. 3, very cosy, on 1st floor and modern double room on ground floor), both beautiful and quite large, bathrooms also nice, everything very clean. The rooms were going out towards the back garden and quiet at night, slept very good. The winter garden was great to sit in when it was rainy outside, there was also a nice little garden on the back side with table and chairs under a big umbrella as well as a little pavillon, both very relaxing, not only for smokers). PJ gave us lots of good advice and was very helpful and made us feel welcome. There is a nice pub with good food just 3 minutes down the road on the same side. Location is good, bus stop in front of the house to get to the city conveniently. Beautiful B & B with very comfortable atmosphere that we would choose again, Anna / Austria.

Room Tip: We had twin/no. 3, very cosy on 1st floor and modern double room on ground floor), both beautiful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Compared to other B&B's that we visited in Ireland, the facility itself is not the strong point. A row house on a busy street, and some of the rooms are smallish. The strong points are the host and the location. PJ provided wonderful hospitality and excellent advice. The location is simple for both the airport and the city. From the airport, take the #16 (as I recall) city bus, it is that simple,, and the same bus to get into the city. Breakfasts are great. In addition, for lunch, PJ recommended Fagans Pub close by, and go there for the carvery (half portion).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family (mom, dad, brother) and I stayed with PJ & Maureen on June 6- June 9. We checked in later than expected, but it was no problem. PJ was absolutely accommodating.
The stay was splendid and I could type plenty, but I'm going to break it down into points to stay simple.

- Breakfast was delicious: you can mix and match to create the breakfast you want. I recommend the traditional breakfast. Need less food? Go for the poached eggs and tomatoes. Maureen makes the breakfast, so if you see her, say "thanks". She doesn't greet guests as much as PJ.
- PJ is full of advice if you ask for it.
- The beds are incredibly comfortable.
- There's parking out front (but you really don't need a car in Dublin unless you're making day trips away from the city). Also, parking in Dublin city is AWFUL. Just a forewarning.
- There's plenty of natural light and mirrors for those who need places to get ready. The windowsills also function great for doing makeup.
- It's quiet, calm and clean without being pretentious or stuffy. Other guests were quiet and respectful, as well.
- It's only a 10 minute drive from the heart of Dublin.
- It's an excellent point for daytime excursions- like Newgrange or the Wicklow Forest.
- It's a 5 minute drive from the airport.

My only complaint is for a lack of plug outlets that fit converters. The plugs (in my room upstairs) were close to the ground, and my converter literally couldn't plug in. There were other plug outlets, so it wasn't a big deal.
Also, the water pressure in the shower is really low. It works, but barely.

Overall, PJ & Maureen are excellent hosts, and Tinode House is an excellent place to stay. I recommend it over a hotel (or another b&b) any day.

Thanks for the wonderful stay!
-the traveling Texans

Room Tip: My brother and I shared the room at the top of the stairs and it got great internet reception all da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were at Tinode House for 2 nights when we flew into Dublin. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. Located outside the Dublin Town Centre, but the bus stop was right outside the door. PJ was extremely helpful and personable. He will be one of our favorite memories!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdonnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
1.6 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,685 reviews
1.5 km away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 150 in Dublin
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
6 km away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
465 reviews
4 km away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#10 of 150 in Dublin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinode House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinode House

Address: 170 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: €55 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing