We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere for a late lunch”

The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill
Ranked #289 of 2,913 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Parnell Heritage Pub & Grill completely renovated (2012) situated on Parnell Street, D1. (Across the road from Irelands oldest maternity hospital. The Rotunda.) We aim to mix new-age interior with old Irish charm. We also boast Parnell streets only roof top bar serviced by elevator. We offer a varied food menu with emphasis on Irish produce and traditional dishes. We have also taken the time to create a mouth watering cocktail menu. We will be hosting cocktail classes with our resident mixologist on a weekly basis to give you the opportunity to learn the flares of the trade. All live sports fixtures will be shown on our Big screens. All major GAA fixtures. Keep up-to-date with all our current offers here and feel free to get in touch for bookings of any kind.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We definitely enjoyed our late lunch and the open design of the establishment. We were interested in what the rooftop bar entailed but were quite comfortable in our table behind the bar. Our server, who was somewhat elusive to begin, warmed up after a bit and helped with our luncheon choices. She definitely gave us the correct advice and the food was excellent and much different than anywhere else we had thus far during our visit to Dublin. We found out that if you are traveling with women you won’t get a pint of Guinness despite really wanting one. The women were served 1/2 pints which we actually found hysterical. Just one of those cultural things. We were very impressed with the menu and would love to go back for dinner on our next visit.

Thank Fenway6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, Manager at The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Pesky6, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch so much, as for the Guinness anyone can have a pint or a half pint (glass), apologies if someone got it wrong. Thank you very much for the great review, much appreciated, and we really look forward to welcoming you all back for dinner and maybe even a pint in our rooftop bar. Thanks again, Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had just arrived in Dublin and found the Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill through AroundMe app. I have never been more fortunate with a recommendation. It was all that we could have hoped and more. Excellent food, great service and a wonderful place to be in touch with Irish roots.

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, Manager at The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi Dave, thank you so much for the great review and rating, we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your visit with us so much, we really appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This is a pub to go to midweek if you fancy a few drinks with friends and a nice bite to eat without having to shout above loud music or barge through people to get served at the bar, pints reasonably priced and good food menu, we were served all night by a lovely waitress who was very accommodating and we were welcomed by the barman when we came in rather than looked up and down, it had big screens showing the football also. it is quiet during the week, I imagine it is livelier at weekends but sometimes quiet is good,been twice nice and will be back a third time.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shredder1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, Manager at The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Shredder1886, thank you for taking the time to post such a great review and rating, it is really appreciated. Yes you are right it does get livelier at the weekends but still with the same great service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again, Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

The four of us had good dinners here but the whole experience was marred by bizarre service. Our waitress WOULD NOT bring us water!!! We ordered drinks and dinner, asked for water also. One of the drink orders wasn't quite right, she brought a glass rather than a pint of beer. She corrected that order and brought our dinners, but we asked for water three times, to no avail. She pointedly ignored us the rest of the time we were there. Finally we caught the eye of another waitress and requested the water. She said she'd bring it but we saw the original server ask her about it, and no water came! Later we flagged the second server again, and she told us the first one said not to bring water, that she'd take care of it. The second server apologized for the first one's lack of service. We asked her for the check, paid (and tipped) her and left. We can NOT figure out why we were treated this way. The food was very good and the second server was pleasant and helpful. The behavior of the first server however was inexcusable and should not be tolerated by the restaurant's management. This was on 9/19/2018.

Thank Tour300358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, Manager at The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hi Tour300358, Thank you for taking the time to review us, as you can imagine we are very disappointed with the service you received. We have looked into the matter and have taken action to ensure that this never happens again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. On a more positive note we are delighted you enjoyed your dinners and we look forward to seeing you again soon for a much improved service. Thanks again, Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

It's a real Irish pub/restaurant with character, charm, lots of Irishness and great food.
The owner A Galway Man is very welcoming and entertaining and takes the time to speak with his customers, welcoming them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, Manager at The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Joe, Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, our great food and of course Louie's wonderful hospitality. Thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review, much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Parnell Heritage Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing