We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finnegans's of Dalkey

Finnegans's of Dalkey
Ranked #340 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

A friendly place for some pints :) Thanks very much! Always, when i´m in Dublin i have to go to this pub. I always met very friendly people there!

  • Visited September 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    37
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood and fair prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We went to Finnegan's on the way back from the amazing seafront of dalkey. We had great food and a couple of pints of Guinness. Great quality/price ratio, nice and quiet pub

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Gianstefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Upscale pub with down-home charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

Stopped in for a post-dinner whiskey on the way back to our hotel in Dalkey. We took the DART train from Dublin city center, and then a taxi after Finnegan's back to our hotel (the Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel) up the hill from town.

Finnegan's had been highly recommended to us by an artist friend from Ireland, and she did not steer us wrong. The staff was incredibly friendly. For example, my husband asked our server if she knew of an ATM machine close by. (The bar takes credit cards, but we'd been needing to get some cash.) She instead offered to give him cash if we made a small purchase (she'd already run our card for our round of drinks and we weren't planning to order any more). We'd had a late lunch that serves as a very early dinner so we were a little hungry and ordered some peanuts, and he got back a fair amount of cash. What is remarkable about this is that the bar was packed, standing room only, and she was clearly a busy server. But she took time to go above and beyond for us and was very friendly all the while.

The atmosphere of Finnegan's is traditional pub style, but it has a slightly upscale feel. And the clientele were surprisingly well-dressed. They were also friendly. My husband had "GT" on his polo-style shirt since we had come from the Georgia Tech / Boston College football game played that day in Dublin at Aviva Stadium. A nice gentleman came over and struck up a conversation about the game, where we are from, etc.

All in all, I highly recommend Finnegan's.

  • Visited September 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Finest Bar and Restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Just 50 meters from the DART Station. A very welcoming pub. Great food, service and ambiance. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank osullivankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The peoples pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

where to meet the rock stars and directors of dublin. the staff and decent and the pints are tasty. TVs also

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank niallmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finnegans's of Dalkey also viewed

Dalkey, County Dublin
Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Dalkey, County Dublin
Dalkey, County Dublin
 

Been to Finnegans's of Dalkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing