We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend an afternoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmleigh House and Estate

Farmleigh House and Estate
Ranked #69 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Formerly the home to members of the Guinness family, the Irish Government now owns it and uses it to provide accommodations for visiting dignitaries and special guests.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to visit for an afternoon. There is a restaurant quite close on the water. Have food, feed the ducks, have a nice walk, visit the farmers market when it's on, pick an event to be there for. All good!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Traloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    49
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stroll and a coffee.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We spent a few hours walking the grounds of this hidden gem.
Absolutely beautiful estate.
Free parking,pets welcome but must remain restrained.
Great little coffee shop with really nice selection of food.
Indoor and outdoor seating.
The grounds are fantastic and plenty to see here.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank StephenL1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

Having visited the Pheonix Park many times over the years, I finally found my way into Farmleigh House, what fantastic gardens, all the plants and trees are named all the gardens are maintained to the highest standard, this is a must if you are green fingered , I visited in early January so there wasn' t a lot to see with regards to flowers, I am so looking forward to returning each season to see the display of colour change from season to season. The House itself looks amazing it was closed when I was there I will look forward to doing the free tour next time round. We had parked in the main park as we were out walking the dog but there is a car park in the grounds of Farmleigh.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank roconnor1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Free and well worth a visit in Dublin !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017

Dublin boosts the largest municipal park in Europe and Farmleigh adds to a visit. Not only to see the house ( used by visiting government dignitaries ) but beautiful gardens AND a nice cafe !

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank biggestjohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thje Guiness Home in the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

This is the original home of a member of the Guinness family. It now belongs to the Irish State and is open to the public. It is located in the largest enclosed park in Europe and you will have a full day of enjoyment here.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank DJCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmleigh House and Estate also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Farmleigh House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing