We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No note of Cancellation”
Review of The Harbourmaster

The Harbourmaster
Ranked #643 of 3,046 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: he Harbourmaster is located in the heart of Dublin’s ever growing and bustling business district, the IFSC. Our fabulous former Dock Office / Harbourmaster house was first built in the 1830’s and later transformed into a pub and restaurant in the 2000’s. Both the bar and restaurant have undergone cutting edge design transformations in the last year and we continue with exciting developments, all to be revealed throughout 2018!! The Harbourmaster is renowned for it's delicious, great quality and reasonably priced food, which can be enjoyed in the stylish restaurant and newly renovated cocktail bar or in the Old-Style Main Bar which still retains its dock house character. With our classic function rooms, nooks and crannies, the Harbourmaster is the perfect setting for any occasion however large or small! No matter what your need, our friendly team of professionals are at your service!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would really love to do a review of the food as the place looks really good but unfortunately we were turned away without a morsel. We had booked by e mail for Dec 29th at 6.15 pm after going to a show in The Board Gais Theatre. The booking was made and confirmed on Dec 18th. We were informed in the confirmation mail that because of the time of year that the menu would be limited to an All day lunch. That was fine by us . Turning up at 5.50pm on Dec 29th I informed the barman that we had booked for food at 6.15pm. He looked at me bemused and informed me that the kitchen had finished at 5pm. No fault of the mannerly barman . I showed him the mail and his bemusement simply increased . This is a well known and highly rated Dublin pub/resturaunt and it is really disappointing that this type of poor practice exists in such an establishment. I e mailed again later in the evening but three days later have not had a reply. Very Poor from management.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited just before Christmas and it was the first pub we frequented as we were staying in the dock area. Wonderful welcome, really pleasant staff and although the Guinness was €5.60 per pint, I would still recommend the Harbourmaster

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food fab,staff lovely and service exellent,atmosphere great,the only thing that let it down were the toilets,freezen cold and very dirty,one set could do with a complete paint job

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank TheresaK486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been to this restaurant quite a number of times and always had a good experience...except this time. And so reluctantly,I feel compelled to give a bad review.. We booked a table in the restaurant for 10 people (on my recommendation), back in October, for Saturday 1st December. (in plenty of time). The booking was gladly accepted. However the organiser received contact from the venue a couple of days before the booking, saying they had received a large booking for that night (1st.) and we would have to be accommodated in the bar instead. They also gave us just that day to accept the change or cancel. This caused huge inconvenience for us as some were travelling from the country, and also people were in work and could not be contacted very quickly. It was reluctantly agreed to go ahead with the revised booking. We were squeezed into the bar area for the night. It must be said, the food here is very good quality and the service efficient and polite. On the night also, the toilets at one end of the venue were out of order and also, when coffees were ordered after the dinner, the machine was not working, ruling them out.. (also, by the way, bringing a teapot without a lid could be actually nearly dangerous in my opinion). Overall it would seem the lure of a large booking overcame the sense of customer service on the night I'm afraid, and the complimentary wine extracted didn't compensate.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

Whilst visiting the Dock area chanced upon this place. It was very popular at lunchtime when we arrived. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We both settled for a fish and chips meal. The order was taken, and arrived, in good time. One of the fish was a little overdone but the other was perfect. Some of the interior appeared a bit basic and some paintwork/woodwork was in need of a touch up. However, a nice atmosphere within, and a beautiful open fire near our table. Worth the visit

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 35stephenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harbourmaster also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Harbourmaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing