We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 00:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Stag's Head Dublin
from US$28.83
More Info
from US$166.23
More Info
from US$42.74
More Info
Reviews (1,185)
Filter reviews
1,185 results
Traveller rating
716
372
58
13
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
716
372
58
13
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great atmosphere great guinness pint of guinness pubs barman craic whiskeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,185 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

Appalling bar staff…. As a tourist I have been coming here for 17 years…. Walked in to be told I was wearing tracksuit bottoms… they were Next trousers… and shown the door! Even have a t shirt from this place. They must be doing really well in covid to turn punters away … just wanted a meal and some pints!

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank chelsea1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2021

Stag's Head is my favourite pub in Dublin (we visited quite a lot). This place takes you to another time. Selection of pints & whiskeys and a small number of dishes to accompany them, all tasted fresh and homemade. Bartenders were very polite (we sat on the bar) and we were in total very well served both times we were there. Can't wait to go back and enjoy my beef stew along with a pint of Guinness

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank Chrysovalantou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

This is the strangest situation I’ve been involved in. After finishing work, I went to meet with two friends at the comedy show downstairs in the pub. Each of my friends had one drink each at this stage.

I was served a drink and was enjoying my night. After this however, we were told me wouldn’t be served anymore. The bartender would not tell us why after we asked which frustrated us as we had been polite the whole time and we were all dressed well. We decided to not cause a scene and left knowing we’d get no where complaining to the bartenders.

We decided to go the pub across the road to get our second drink of the night. We noticed one of the bartenders watching us as we left. Once again, we acted in a polite manner, waiting to be served in the second pub. However, we were subsequently shown the door out once again for no apparent reason. We couldn’t understand why this was happening until we noticed the bartender from the Stag’s Head followed us across the road and told the other pub not to serve us. (We had one drink this whole time) We tried to explain that we did nothing wrong but as expected they didn’t listen to us.
We went home after this having one drink each, as it was too late to go to another pub. We’re Dublin locals and we still can’t understand what happened.

I hope this doesn’t happen to anyone else as it was extremely unfair and out of line. It seemed as though the bartenders wanted to ruin our night that night for whatever reason and they succeeded in doing so. I don’t plan on returning.

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank gregkellly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

I was enjoying a great night with One of my friends, when all of a sudden the staff refused to serve us anymore alcohol for no apparent reason. Before we were refused we had two drinks each and we went up to the bar for another one. The bar tender agreed to sell us another drink, but then he came back a minute later telling us that he would not serve us anymore. This behavior was unwarranted ans ridiculous as we did nothing wrong. When we asked the bar tender why, he didn’t want to give us an explanation. We left the pub in frustration and we agreed to go to the pub across the road. When we got into the bar we noticed the same bar tender who kicked us out of the other pub speaking to the bar tenders in the new pub, we were very confused as we did nothing wrong but we felt it must have something to do with us. After a minute the bar tenders called us over and demanded we leave the pub straight away. We were subsequently refused service again for no reason and we believe this is a result of discriminatory behavior. This really ruined our night and it left us extremely confused. As two dublin locals we were shocked with the appalling behavior of the staff. We feel like we can’t even enjoy a night out with some friends in our own city.

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank 367dominicg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

Covid?? What covid? I asked for a seat for 2, no problem. We had our covid passport In hand. The waiter wasn’t going to ask. It was early of a Saturday. The bar was full but everyone was following covid rules. 8pm came around and the staff lost the plot. Forgetting to put their masks on. 30 people ordering from the bar at 1 point. Everyone walking from outside to be served. Fancy dress table consumed the whole front of the bar as they were allowed stand up. What was the point in the vaccine at all!

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank 694jennerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews