We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Dublin Mountains
from US$40.30
More Info
from US$31.10
More Info
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
361
103
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
103
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hellfire club sally gap fairy castle johnny foxes military road walking trails lovely scenery powerscourt gardens upper lake day trip city centre glendalough hike forest falls sugarloaf nature
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We were able to see the Dublin Mountains on a tour we had booked. The scenery is just breathtaking and would highly recommend should you have time.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank damurphy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I went there almost every weekend ... love hiking and there is some history to see, also vikings were screen there and Brave Heart .

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank AlkaWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I have hiked Three Rock, Two Rock, Fairy Castle, Tibradden Mountain, The Hellfire Club,Cruagh and Masseys Wood. I would highly recommend all. The Hellfire Club is not a hike, just a 15 min walk up, but the views are great, all of Dublin City and The Bay.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank fi_fi_fionaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

If you're feeling active there are plenty of wood and mountain trail options in the Dublin mountains. Depending on the route you choose, you are often rewarded with wonderful views across Dublin city and out to the sea.

There are limited parking facilities at most of the sites and on a recent visit to Masseys' wood there was a planning application for the development of a large tourist venture. Cruagh wood now houses the Zipit outdoor zipline centre and there are more coffee vans starting to appear in carparks. The roads are narrow on the drive up and crowded with cyclists on weekends so take caution on the bends. No bin facilities are a particular pain for dog owners who pick up after their dogs.

If you don't want to leave your car it is an enjoyable drive with lovely scenery, which for a lot of people often includes a stop at Johnny Foxes or the Merry Ploughboy.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Ulysses2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

After driving for 9 days through the most beautiful scenery we have ever seen we decided to skip the final day we had planned in Dublin and opted for a drive through the Wicklow Mountains/Dublin Mountains.

I have to say that it was a huge disappointment, other than a small portion called the Wicklow Gap which has a pretty waterfall, the remainder of our journey seemed unimpressive and boring.

Maybe we were spoiled by that point by all of the other breathtaking views we left behind.... There are so many better places to see in Ireland, I would suggest skipping this and head for Kilarney National Park, Gap of Dunloe, Molls Gap, Caherdaniel, Cliffs of Moher, and on and on.

Ireland you stole my heart! So much so we are heading back in April!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank LifesAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews