We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden walk - free”

National Botanic Gardens
Ranked #13 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely garden walk - free”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

a really nice walk and very well
maintained. huge array of plants... if your into plant

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JOBrien_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,621
    541
    80
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

just a lovely place to walk, wonderful trees, very peaceful and I always feel rejuvenated. Think there's a nice selection of species for the avid botanist too

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MAlagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gardens”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Well laid out and labelled. Easy access. Although in March, a fair degree of colour. Liked the way the glasshouses were linked together. Getting there from our Bed and Breakfast was easy as the local bus took us all the way. This meant we could see other parts of Dublin as well.
Good reasturant facilities

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KINGSKNOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful afternoon; donations should be allowed”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Wonderful treat, hadn't visited in years! Free entrance in this day and age is a treat. When I attempted to make a donation, I was told my taxes paid for it. The grounds are beautiful and the grounds-staff do an amazing job considering what a tight budget they have to work with. It is immaculately clean and there is a lovely blend of old and new buildings. The orchid house is wonderful with many specimen which I have recently lost to a disease so it was lovely to see mature versions of them. The Jasmine section was wonderful; I could have spent hours there. The grounds are spotless and it was lovely to see so many families with young children taking advantage of a relatively pleasant Spring Sunday afternoon. The restaurant has a limited menu and some curt members of staff. A meal for two with starter, nice main, dessert and tea was e42-not too bad! It must be born in mind that the Irish climate will not allow results on par with the continent or warmer climates but all in all, the foliage and presentation made for a beautiful afternoon.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best walk in Dublin”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Free! Beautiful! Enjoy the walk around the whole park. Takes about an hour. Start at entrance and just take every left turn right around the whole park. Stop at the end in the rose garden. Have a rest and enjoy the scents. Bliss!

Helpful?
1 Thank mosi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to National Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing