We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must!!”

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.81*
and up
Glasnevin Cemetery Tour in Dublin
Ranked #2 of 507 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An absolute must!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have been living in Dublin for year's and have recently been hearing great things about this tour! I had a relative visiting from England so I thought it would be the perfect time to take the tour!

The museum is really good, much more technically advanced than I would have expected and also interactive.

Our tour guide Bridget was fantastic, so even if you are not fully knowledgeable about all the graves you visit, Bridget gives wonderful insight and interesting facts!

You also get to go underground into Daniel O' Connell's crypt, it's almost surreal to see his coffin and touch it if you wish, as Bridget said people believes this brings good luck!

I could not recommend this tour enough!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinSIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,955
    900
    202
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The Tower Café; Dead nice...”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

A cemetery isn't often the first place one thinks of going to for lunch but the Glasnevin Trust have done an EXCELLENT job over the past number of years making Glasnevin Cemetery (Prospect Cemetery) an unmissable tourist destination.

I've visited the three exhibitions (The City of the Dead, The Milestone Gallery and enjoyed the panoramic view of the cemetery from the glazed Prospect Gallery) last year. Today (30 April 2012), however, I was in Glasnevin to attend a cremation and decided to have lunch in the Tower Café situated within the gift shop. For lunch they serve salads, sandwiches, fresh soups and and a variety of other fare. I had the Potato and Leek soup with some nice brown bread (EURO4.70).

The modern surroundings are very relaxed and the staff are friendly and helpful. I know it probably soundy corny but the Tower Café is, well; Dead nice...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GFPDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Exceptional tour of cemetery”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This tour joins the dots for history buffs. After taking the walking tour and the gaol tour, the cemetery tour completes the picture. Where are the graves of those from the rebellions? You find them here, some in simple graves, others in family vaults. It was a cold day, but we braved the one and a half hour tour, totally engaged the entire time! Excellent guide and would recommend travellers do this tour to complete the story of Dublin's history.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bringing history to life”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A visit to a cemetery may not be high up on your list on things-to-do in Dublin but having been on the guided tour twice myself, I can certainly say it’s well worth a visit! Anyone with even a slight interest in Irish history and the general backdrop to life in Ireland in the 19th and 20th centuries cannot fail to be captivated by the many interesting facts and anecdotes that the guide recounts. Our guide, Paddy Gleeson, was a wealth of knowledge and for the best part of 2 hours regaled us with fascinating details and stories, which brought the whole historical experience to life (if you’ll excuse the pun). He also made a point of asking where people were from so he could point out anything of particular interest to them. You certainly don’t have to be a tourist to enjoy this (I’m a Dubliner myself and most of the people on the tour were Irish, in fact) and it seems to appeal to people of all ages. You could conceivably spend several hours in the cemetery, strolling around the grounds before or after the tour or spending time in the museum in the visitor centre. To top off your trip, stop by the legendary Kavanagh’s (the gravedigger’s) pub for a pint of the black stuff in one of the most traditional pubs in Dublin. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Many of the stories that were told by the tour guide were of interest. But I would recommend visiting this site only if you time. There's other things in Dublin I would recommend doing more than this. It was nice, but not great.

Very beautiful grounds though to walk through.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuinnessMeASAP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing