We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit- excellent tour guides”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Castle

Dublin Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.28*
and up
Dublin Luxury Small-Group Tour including St Patrick's Cathedral
Ranked #49 of 503 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin Castle was for 700 years the seat of British power in Ireland. Today you can still view the remains of the 13th century structure as part of the guided tour. The present Dublin Castle dates from the mid 1700's and today is used by the Irish Governemnt for state events such as the inauguration of the Irish President and state banquets for visiting dignatories. Amongst the highlights are the Ladies Drawing Room, the Throne Room and St. Patricks Hall.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth a visit- excellent tour guides”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

very interesting history of Dublin. Large grand rooms (would have been nice to see some dressed rooms though) and the underground area was worth visiting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly-the-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    1,192
    747
    156
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great tour, worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

To enter Dublin Castle you have to have a guided tour but its worth it. The tour guide was brilliant, giving you plenty of facts about the history of the castle & Dublin. The guide made the tour both interesting and entertaining and at only 4.50 euro per person its worth a visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazybaby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“An enjoyable way to while away an hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is not really a castle now, more of a Palace, however it's still full of history and with a very friendly and knowledgeble guide we enjoyed our tour - thank you Joanna (?) Good value for money and the toilets are plentiful and free (not very common in Dublin!)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just walk the grounds, cos the older parts are too small to concern yourself with. Go the Chester Beatty library on the grounds instead.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eldel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I visited Dublin Castle this week feeling it was something we should see while in Dublin.

I must confess that History is not my passion and I was a little unenthusiastic by the trip. However, it turned out to be one of the favourite places we visited!

Our guide was very well informed and gave just the right amount of information. She managed to teach me about the basics of Irish History without sending me to sleep! Like many, I was expecting a typical castle but was soon put right. I enjoyed looking at the state rooms and hearing about the dignitaries that had recently visited them.

I was surprised to see so many mixed reviews of Dublin Castle on here. I would say it was well worth a visit and a good whistle stop tour of Irish Independene.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Castle also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublin Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing