We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:45
Save
Cycle Tours in Dublin
247

Book in advance
from
US$33.27
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience The Custom House Visitor Centre
from US$33.27
More Info
See Dublin By Bike
347 Reviews
from US$38.81
More Info
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
63
77
41
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
77
41
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building open to the public architectural features north bank tour covers recent irish history well worth the effort well worth a visit free admission o'connell street on display self guided excellent tour liffey government exhibition james
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2022

The Custom House Visitor Centre is a 'must visit' for any visitor to Dublin especially those interested in Ireland's struggle for independence. This wonderful Georgian building designed by the great James Gandon in the 18C only opened to the public in late 2021 and is a treasure trove of information that will hold your interest as you travel through the various rooms and view the easy to understand information on display. The OPW staff at the Visitor's Centre were very professional and helpful and a special thank you to Colm for his assistance and helpful information.

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank 255gerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 January 2022

We were passing the customs house yesterday and were surprised to find out it was open to the public. It is a beautiful iconic building and was excited that we were allowed inside.
The staff were excellent and we did a tour.
There are posters and video screens telling the history and stories of the rising and troubles in the 1920s.
However it did feel a little blank using too much electronic devises to tell its story.
It is crying out for some historical items from the period and a few mannequins dressed up as soldiers would bring what is otherwise a beautiful building to life.

Date of experience: January 2022
1  Thank michaellS2185SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 December 2021 via mobile

A very interesting tour of an historic building. The tour was self guided and covered the history of the building from the original idea up until the present day. including the backgrounds on the people who planned, designed and built it. There were models of the building in its original design also. there was a special part of the exhibition on the custom house fire. There were also panels detailing the history of Ireland during the different phases of the history. The staff there were very friendly. The panels and A.V. presentations were consise and interesting. The tour took an hoyr

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank ennisbannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 December 2021

We visited the Custom House yesterday, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff on reception were friendly and welcoming. It is very well laid out, all the information is easy to read and absorb. The history of this lovely building is most interesting, although I am Dublin born and raised, I knew very little of it. I feel the Custom House is an excellent addition to Dublin’s tourist attractions.

Date of experience: December 2021
1  Thank Ladydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 December 2021

Myself and my friend went in to see the new exhibition last Saturday.
It is absolutely brilliant.
As professional tour guides, we see a lot of cultural venues and this is right up there as one of the best in the city.
The building is stunning, warm and easy to navigate.
The exhibition is really well laid out and engaging with a mix of audio slots and great video footage.
The staff at reception (Yvonne and John) are fantastic. They were so welcoming and knowledgeable.
I would highly recommend going in. Thanks to John and Yvonne

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank cathywhelan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews