We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best museum in Ireland!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Beatty Library

Chester Beatty Library
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.76*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #9 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With free admission and described by the Lonely Planet as 'not just the best museum in Ireland, but one of the best in Europe', the Chester Beatty Library is a must-see on any Dublin visitor's itinerary. As the only museum in Ireland to win 'European Museum of the Year' and rated consistently in the top 6 of TripAdvisor's list of 'Top things to do in Dublin', the library's rich collections from countries across Asia, the Middle East, North Africa and Europe open a window on the artistic treasures of the great cultures and religions of the world.
amherst ma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best museum in Ireland!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Featuring Asian art in a modern building, this is an excellent place to immerse oneself in religious and secular works well-displayed and explained. The building is beautiful- be sure to go out on the roof garden. And eat at "Silk Road" which features Indian and Asian foods, with seating in the restaurant and courtyard- a nice place to relax and enjoy delicious food. You could spend most of a day here.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank tantrictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,113
    651
    121
    21
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'd give this place 6 stars if I could. The types of books and artifacts rival those of the Smithsonian. Major plus is that it's free admission.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“With love for books lovers this is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If you love books, If you want to travel in books history on all continents this is THE PLACE for you. It is a little museum, but a diamond one. I enjoyed books and stories from England, India, China, Japan, Iran, etc. Second floor is a short but really lovely tour through religions/faiths history. My advice is to saveur this house and take your time.
Impressive it is also a modern museum: a lot of multimedia interactive places. Enjoy!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank maria i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing collection of historic atrefacts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Chester Beatty Library in late December 2016.
We were shown around by a very helpful and knowledgeable volunteer guide. The highlight was seeing the earliest copies of the New Testament. This is a wonderful place and worthy of a repeat visist

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank cmjones54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narrandera, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the highlight of my visit to Dublin.The beauty of the displays are very moving and could have spent time than I had available.Be warned there is no photography and was disappointrd to see some people with mobiles not following the rules.It would be my no 1 place to visit.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank fairliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester Beatty Library also viewed

 

Been to Chester Beatty Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing