We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Good Location”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Good Location”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 2/23 to 2/28. It is in a good location, but it gets very noisy at night with a lot of bars on the street. The rooms were very clean and in newer order. I shared a twin room and we had plenty of room for all our things. Good hot water and water pressure. If you book a room hear ask for a room on a higher floor in the rear. We were on the 4th floor front, which was noisy at night. We had the full Irish breakfast each morning for 9 euros. It was very filling. I ate a couple of times in the Bruskers bar that is attached to the hotel. The food was OK, basic bar food. I would stay here again for its central location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and towards the back of the hotel to avoid the street noise and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyloyd45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear CindyLoyd45,

Thank you for your review above. I’m glad to hear you were happy with the standard of the bedrooms and that you noticed the new developments we made with them. It’s great to hear also that you went to Buskers for lunch and enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

We look forward to seeing you again Cindy.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dubin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    856
    366
    114
    82
See reviews for
305
881
142
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Age 28-35Stayed here for one night,found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.The location is perfect you couldnt be more central.Great bar,slept like a baby had no problems with noise.Myself and my Wife will be staying again :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Cannon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Cannon83,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write the above review. I’m delighted to hear your great feedback with regards to our friendly staff, the hotel facilities and that you slept like a baby!

We look forward to seeing you and your wife again in the future.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I was disappointed that I filled out a card to have breakfast brought to my room and it was never picked up from outside my door which meant I spent half an hour waiting for my breakfast when it wasn't even coming. I had to phone reception and then wait another half hour for it by which time I had to rush and got to eat very little because I was going to be late for class. Granted I was only charged half price for this but it was my birthday and really put me in a bad mood for the day. I wont be staying there again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Irene F,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I am disappointed to hear that your card was never collected. Had you put the card out on time? Breakfast requests must be made before 03.00am on the previous night. Nevertheless, I will certainly discuss this issue with the Front Desk Manager to make sure that this incident does not happen again. I am pleased to hear that you received a 50% discount on your breakfast as an apology for the mix up.

Kindest regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The rooms were quite small and only had double beds, but the ambience and location in this part of Dublin made up for it all. We visited on st Patrick's day and it's an experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up if you like quiet as during the time we were there lots of partying amongst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carroll92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Carroll92,

Thank you for your review on the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us last St. Patrick’s day! We do offer king, twin and triple rooms as well so please request if you are staying with us again.I must agree that the atmosphere in the Temple Bar area is great and especially at that time of year. The holiday is coming up again soon so hopefully we might see you again to celebrate it!

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at your hotel on the 20th March, to be honest it was the worst night’s sleep I have ever had in my life ( and I travel a lot)

There are 3 main points .

1. First of all, I felt cheated, I booked and paid for a double bed, the double bed was 2 cheap worn out single beds with a double sheet over them.
2. The mattresses were completely worn out, when I got into bed, I just sunk down leaving the hard rim of the mattress around me which was very uncomfortable, these mattresses were a disgrace and should be binned, my back was aching and had little sleep that night ( thank god it was only one night)
3. I reported this to the duty manager , while very courteous and sympathised with my complaint, the only position on offer was that if I returned she would sort me out, I still had to pay for the room with no offer of reduction.
Having said all this the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the hotel was in a great location.

I bet if I returned in 6 months those mattresses will still be there!!

Room Tip: i stayed in 418, unless it has new mattresses , insist on another
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for your review and for bringing your concerns about the hotel to my attention. I will check the mattress in that room this morning and address the issue as a matter of urgency.

I am glad to hear that you were impressed with the level of service and friendliness you received from our staff.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#49 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,823 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 151 in Dublin
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing