We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #65 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The location is not central in Dublin city, but in a residential area, near most of the Embassies. The rooms are large and well decorated. The restaurant of the hotel and the bar have very good quality food and any type of drinks. The breakfast is excellent in variety and service. The building used to be a masonic mansion and it is very nicely preserved.
The only problem I found was that it doesn't have air conditioned, and the central heating system, by radiators, heats too much when open and when closed the room gets too cold. It was impossible to find a middle temperature.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTHA91256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonBallsbridge, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Martha,

I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I am very disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay.
We take great pride in the quality of our service, and it is naturally very disheartening to know that we have not managed to exceed your expectations. I do hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the poor level of service that you experienced, which was most certainly not of the standard to which we strive to achieve. I have forwarded your concerns to the Management Team, who will investigate this matter further.

Please accept our deepest apology I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Laura Mangan,
Brand Ambassador,
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

While staying in the Clayton Hotel, I received exceptional service from Darren and Jamie who looked after my family and I when we visited Tom's Bar for our evening meal. What really stood out for me, their fantastic customer service and attention to the small detail. Such friendly and genuin characters, which made our whole experience perfect. Please pass on my positive feedback and ensure their team leaders are made aware of the exceptional service they are providing.

Kind regards

Stephen Missett

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonBallsbridge, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Stephen,

I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I was happy to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. It always gives the team a great boost in morale to hear feedback on their efforts. I can assure you that the team here work extremely hard to provide high standards of service, so I know Darren Jamie will be honoured to read such glowing feedback on their efforts
I have forwarded your feedback to the Management Team.
I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Laura Mangan,
Brand Ambassador,
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Came into Dublin to start our trip down and around The Great Atlantic Way the next day.

We wanted a place that gave us a true taste of Irish hospitality. We got it

Rooms are roomy. Beds comfortable. The grounds are very nice and well kept.

The place uses a very dark wood inside giving it rich and warm feel.

Very easy to park in their garage.

If you are just traveling, you may well feel under dressed. We visited on a weekend and clearly a wedding was going on.

Incredibly well dressed w women in fascintors and guys in ties.

Close to everything.

And a great plus, it's right next to a hop on hop off tour bus and the hotel sells a voucher where you buy it then the bus driver prints your ticket.

And the hotel is gorgeous.

You can make your friends jealous. ;)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonBallsbridge, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Eric,

I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I was happy to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. It always gives the team a great boost in morale to hear feedback on their efforts. I can assure you that the team here work extremely hard to provide high standards of service, so I know they will be honoured to read such glowing feedback on their efforts
I have forwarded your feedback to the Management Team.
I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Laura Mangan,
Brand Ambassador,
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Stayed for two nights. Staff is friendly, efficient and very helpful. Hotel is very clean and in a beautiful old restored property. A bit far from Dublin city centre, but taxis were easy. Food was very good

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MicheleC670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonBallsbridge, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello 1MicheleC670,

I would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge recently. I was happy to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. It always gives the team a great boost in morale to hear feedback on their efforts. I can assure you that the team here work extremely hard to provide high standards of service, so I know they will be honoured to read such glowing feedback on their efforts
I have forwarded your feedback to the Management Team.
I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Laura Mangan,
Brand Ambassador,
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Stayed here for first time for one night last weekend while attending an event at the RDS. The beautiful original 1800's building's exterior is still untouched & a joy to behold!
Reception staff are extremely efficient & pleasant. We had bar snacks which were very good especially the Angus beef burger. Beds were really comfy & the room was quiet, no corridor noise even though there was a wedding reception on. Good powerful shower but towels were a little thin! Waiting staff at breakfast were excellent, very helpful & food was good. Underground car park was a plus. Short 5min walk from hotel to RDS. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crunchie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaytonBallsbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Crunchie36,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback, and thank you for choosing Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge for your recent visit to Dublin. We take great pride in our positive reviews and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our team will be delighted to read your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Have a great day.

Kind Regards,
Stephen O'Sullivan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
1.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.5 km away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,790 reviews
0.9 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#88 of 150 in Dublin
2,384 reviews
2.4 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €87 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing