We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
119
201
75
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
201
75
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews o'connell street travel kettle family run hotel top floor no lift city centre an older building minute walk recommend this hotel single room quiet street budget hotel explore dublin hotel is located first floor temple bar would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

If one of the things you love about Dublin is that there is a story on every corner then you will love this Georgian hotel. It's the former home of the founder of the Gaelic Athletics Association.
It's immaculately clean, couldn't fault it for that, and well located 5 minutes walk from O'Connell St.
Friendly, quiet and safe, it's an ideal location if you don't want to be in party central. There are steep stairs though so be careful when choosing a room.
On arrival we noted that the usual mini travel kettle wasn't in our room. That's because (even better) reception will make you a complimentary tea tray, far more civilised and a great cuppa. There's a quaint and cosy bar and staff are very helpful.
Like most Dublin hotels it's not cheap...but visiting the city is worth every penny because it's surely one of the top three cities in the world with the best stories and most interesting history.

Room Tip: Just watch for the stairs if you have any mobility issues.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank pizzaswirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Stayed here with my family and friends for my 40th birthday was made to feel very welcome rooms were clean and adequate breakfasts excellent and the bars and restaurants the staff recommended were also very good.If we returned to Dublin we would stay here again

Room Tip: They can provide single beds
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

I really was unsure of the area layout when I booked and then was so pleased when we found that the hotel was just a quick walk to most attractions. We arrived exhausted after a night flight. When I asked the woman at the desk if there was anywhere nearby we could get some tea she quickly brought us a pot and some cups (and even a few biscuits). She was able to get us into a room a bit early and then shared spot on information for directions and places to eat. As others have noted, the place was very clean and everyone was very nice. I hope to get back to Dublin again and if I do, this will again be my choice to stay at.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and you could hear the traffice for a bit- a room in the back would probably be quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

They are clean, friendly and efficient. It's location is perfect and the breakfast is very Irish and good. It's quiet and a marvelous typical building in the middle of an interesting neighborhood in the north center.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank TOMAS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The room was wonderful to count for our week in Ireland. It is walking distance from all the major attractions in the city and they were very friendly. Room is small and accommodations are simple, but everything was clean and comfortable. The shower was quite enjoyable with the bathroom's sleek design. No problems accessing the wifi from our room, but our room was close to reception.

We did not prepay for breakfast, so we chose the days to include it. When you go to sit at breakfast, you choose from a few items and they prepare it hot with juice and coffee. We enjoyed it.

The only downside was the thin walls, as others have mentioned here. You really could hear small conversation, snoring, walking. They give you a big wood block attached to the room key, so we got quite used to hearing that hit the doors as people came in.

Bring a plug adapter if you are from out of Ireland, unwind with some TV and enjoy the reliability of this little safe spot for your travels.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews