We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Coming back to visit family and friends in Dublin is always a treat for me. The best stay I always have is at Waterloohouse. Even though I haven’t a car and because Waterloohouse is situated at a great vantage point it’s really easy for me to get around Dublin. Evelyn and her team offer, at all times, a very kind welcome and do their best to accommodate all requests. The house is delightful and charming along with the very pleasant rooms and cosy beds. I love the Georgian interiors and the unique setting in the leafy area just off Lower Baggott street. Lots of shopping close by, local pub on the next corner, and some very nice restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast room has a relaxed air and is often filled with morning sunshine. I love the view out onto the garden. The splendid selection of breakfast choices makes for a grand start to the day. Waterloohouse is the sort of place that`s rather hard to leave in the first place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank yvon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

This is a fine old Georgian house and you feel very comfortable in it. I had a large room that was plenty big enough for me, and it had an open fireplace in it, so very traditional look and feel. Everything that you need in a room was provided, the beds comfortable, heating, tea/coffee, etc, it's a nice stroll into the city along Baggot St arriving at Grafton St. The pub at the end of Waterloo Rd (Searsons) is great for food and drink, so overall everything you need is right there. The breakfast is good in a nice conservatory and the staff are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in Waterloo House. It was off to a good start considering the owners accepted our booking with around 10 minutes notice after we walked out of our previous booking at a hotel accross the road after seeing the awful room. Waterloo House has a grand feel on approach and the inside didn't dissapoint. Had everything we needed in the room, nice views, breakfast was good and the price was pretty reasonable considering what else I saw online. Location great also and really appreciated the resturant tips from the owner. I'd stay hee afain.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Slightly impersonal check-in, but fine.

Comfy bed and nice furniture. Bathroom a little outdated. There is limited parking on the grounds with lots of on street parking. It is paid parking from 8am.

Didn't have breakfast. Located close to Aviva, Baggot St & embassy belt. Got a rate of €60 which was not bad.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mobileirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Stayed in the hotel just for 2 nights. The room was quite small (It was a double room but I was travelling alone!) but clean and with a really nice view. Decided to add the breakfast and you definitely have to try the Waffle with Maple syrup (!). The location is definitely the best part.... 10 minutes from Merrion Square and Grafton street. Nice patisserie nearby. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padoel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.4 km away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 150 in Dublin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,225 reviews
1.3 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €88 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing