We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in Waterloo House. It was off to a good start considering the owners accepted our booking with around 10 minutes notice after we walked out of our previous booking at a hotel accross the road after seeing the awful room. Waterloo House has a grand feel on approach and the inside didn't dissapoint. Had everything we needed in the room, nice views, breakfast was good and the price was pretty reasonable considering what else I saw online. Location great also and really appreciated the resturant tips from the owner. I'd stay hee afain.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Slightly impersonal check-in, but fine.

Comfy bed and nice furniture. Bathroom a little outdated. There is limited parking on the grounds with lots of on street parking. It is paid parking from 8am.

Didn't have breakfast. Located close to Aviva, Baggot St & embassy belt. Got a rate of €60 which was not bad.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mobileirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Stayed in the hotel just for 2 nights. The room was quite small (It was a double room but I was travelling alone!) but clean and with a really nice view. Decided to add the breakfast and you definitely have to try the Waffle with Maple syrup (!). The location is definitely the best part.... 10 minutes from Merrion Square and Grafton street. Nice patisserie nearby. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padoel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed four nights in this lovely, well-located guesthouse. My first room, which was in the back of the building (as I'd requested quiet), was quite warm during some unusually hot summer days. (The sun would shine in, I believe, and add heat - no AC.) After one night they were kind enough to move me to a front room which, although close to the street, it received a breeze and not so much sun. Nice breakfasts and a lovely breakfast room. Comfortable and attractive front room, also. Restaurants and pubs in easy walking distance. Would return. (Actual stay was in June/July 2015.)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Waterloo following a Christmas party. No problems sleeping (but had one or two beers). Would recommend asking for room at back of house if a light sleeper. House its self was really well kept and room was big and comfortable. Excellent value. Located in upper class Dublin 15mins walk from St Stephens Green. Plenty of high end bars and restaurants close - no problems with noice etc from them. Hotel located around the corner. Great base for tourists if you don't mind the 15min walk to centre.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Darragh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.4 km away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 150 in Dublin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,225 reviews
1.3 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €88 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing