We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #31 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Waterloo following a Christmas party. No problems sleeping (but had one or two beers). Would recommend asking for room at back of house if a light sleeper. House its self was really well kept and room was big and comfortable. Excellent value. Located in upper class Dublin 15mins walk from St Stephens Green. Plenty of high end bars and restaurants close - no problems with noice etc from them. Hotel located around the corner. Great base for tourists if you don't mind the 15min walk to centre.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darragh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    168
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
85
238
59
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016

Location of hotel is excellent. Rooms are very small, little shabby. Rest of home is nice, well maintained. Breakfasts are good. Has elevator. Dublin is fabulous place to visit and this B&B is well positioned.

Room Tip: Higher levels better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0outhernGal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We loved staying our 2 nights here.
What was once 2 beautiful Georgian homes is now enjoyed by many a lucky traveller.
This place exudes charm and elegance.
Our room was massive with beautiful artwork, stunning original fireplace and a most comfy bed complete with wooden headboard and matching wardrobe. We had a bath to relax in after our somewhat wet walk through the rainy streets of Dublin.
The shared lounge room also with its original fireplace had large comfortable chairs and was very cosy to curl up in and read the newspapers provided.
You are only a minutes walk from lots of restaurants and pubs so there is always something new to try.
We willing definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We had to do some research at UCD & this lovely B&B proved ideal. We caught the 39A bus just down the street, which took us direct to the campus in a matter of minutes (stopping in Starbucks for a quick coffee on the run first). The Waterloo House is situated in a very nice, quiet, tree-lined neighborhood not far from the embassies and Grafton Street, etc., that has everything you need within walking distance-- groceries, pharmacy, wine shop, nice restaurants and Searson's pub (don't miss Sunday jazz with saxophonist from the Commitments). The Waterloo House breakfast is legendary but our hectic schedule made it a luxury we only indulged in once--and then very, very good! Staff so very nice. We will definitely stay again when returning in the fall. Simply charming and untacky place to stay in Dublin far 'from the madding crowd.'

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

Waterloo House was a nice change from the hustle and bustle of a larger hotel.
Our room was warm and comfortable. The bed and pillows were first class.
The place was spotless and the breakfast delicious.
Convenient location within walking distance of town/RDS.
Parking was a bit of a mission but this was due to an inconsiderate parker who refused to move his car.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zanezanezane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.3 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.3 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing