We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the Heart of Dublin.”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I spend about 100 bed nights in hotels / guest houses each year and the following five things are fierce important to me.

1. Location.
2. Character.
3. Comfort.
4. Parking.
5. Breakfast.

Waterloo House scores top marks in each of the above five.

It's at the heart of Dublins business, sporting and social life. There are excellent hotels within a stones throw to meet clients and conduct meetings. Searsons, The Waterloo, Toner's and Doheny and Nesbitts are four of Ireland's iconic pubs and all are within walking distance and provide great comfort, succour and respite to weary and lonely travellers. Google Maps told me that Roly's Bistro is a 14 minute walk away. I covered it easily in 10. Wonderful meal.

Evelyn Corcoran is a fine Westport lady and is full of warmth, information and personality.

The hotel is a beautiful house overlooking Waterloo Road to the front and a wonderfully secluded conservatory adorns the back. Evelyn tells me to listen to the blinds singing (even in December) and to watch out for a friendly fox that occasionally dancers around the garden.

Dublin, like most cities globally is a nightmare for parking. Waterloo House has ample parking. I arrived late last evening and had no problem parking in front of the hotel.

You'd imagine that most Hotel breakfasts are the same, and unfortunately they are. This is altogether different. Freshly squeezed orange juice; granola; a real Irish fry with tasty thick rashers, succulent sausages and chives in the scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Take your pick. The bustle and sophistication of Waterloo Road to the front or the quietness of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 722p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Got a good rate for this hotel using HotelTonight. It is in a great location near good restaurants (Bloom bistro) and shops. It is also a pleasant walk into the town centre.

Good off street parking is available.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I didn't expect to be staying overnight in Dublin but lack of space on ships conspired against me. Came across this little gem on one of the booking web sites. What a lovely place in a large traditional building close to pubs and restaurants. Met the owner very nice lady and front of house receptionist a lovely Polish lady both very friendly and welcoming. Nice room and ensuite unfortunately had to pass on breakfast an early ship beckoned. If I find myself in Dublin again will certainly stay there.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is our favourite place to stay when we visit Dublin. It has buckets of charm and the staff are brilliant, especially Evelyn and Patrick. Breakfast was fantastic - we had a full Irish and a french toast with maple syrup. Both were perfect!

We then strolled around Ballsbridge in the crisp Autumn air soaking up the market in Herbert Park and enjoying a coffee before we checked out and returned to reality!

If you want an alternative to the mainstream hotels, this is it! 5 Stars all around.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Excellent location on Waterloo Road. Close to Aviva Stadium and also easy walk to city centre. Room very nice and bathroom excellent. Breakfast cooked and buffet was also very good with excellent service. Price for this area of Dublin is also very good and we parked out front fro free which was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.4 km away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 150 in Dublin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,225 reviews
1.3 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,569 reviews
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €88 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing