We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the Heart of Dublin.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waterloo House
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the Heart of Dublin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

I spend about 100 bed nights in hotels / guest houses each year and the following five things are fierce important to me.

1. Location.
2. Character.
3. Comfort.
4. Parking.
5. Breakfast.

Waterloo House scores top marks in each of the above five.

It's at the heart of Dublins business, sporting and social life. There are excellent hotels within a stones throw to meet clients and conduct meetings. Searsons, The Waterloo, Toner's and Doheny and Nesbitts are four of Ireland's iconic pubs and all are within walking distance and provide great comfort, succour and respite to weary and lonely travellers. Google Maps told me that Roly's Bistro is a 14 minute walk away. I covered it easily in 10. Wonderful meal.

Evelyn Corcoran is a fine Westport lady and is full of warmth, information and personality.

The hotel is a beautiful house overlooking Waterloo Road to the front and a wonderfully secluded conservatory adorns the back. Evelyn tells me to listen to the blinds singing (even in December) and to watch out for a friendly fox that occasionally dancers around the garden.

Dublin, like most cities globally is a nightmare for parking. Waterloo House has ample parking. I arrived late last evening and had no problem parking in front of the hotel.

You'd imagine that most Hotel breakfasts are the same, and unfortunately they are. This is altogether different. Freshly squeezed orange juice; granola; a real Irish fry with tasty thick rashers, succulent sausages and chives in the scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Take your pick. The bustle and sophistication of Waterloo Road to the front or the quietness of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 722p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    168
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
85
238
59
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

Got a good rate for this hotel using HotelTonight. It is in a great location near good restaurants (Bloom bistro) and shops. It is also a pleasant walk into the town centre.

Good off street parking is available.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I didn't expect to be staying overnight in Dublin but lack of space on ships conspired against me. Came across this little gem on one of the booking web sites. What a lovely place in a large traditional building close to pubs and restaurants. Met the owner very nice lady and front of house receptionist a lovely Polish lady both very friendly and welcoming. Nice room and ensuite unfortunately had to pass on breakfast an early ship beckoned. If I find myself in Dublin again will certainly stay there.

Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is our favourite place to stay when we visit Dublin. It has buckets of charm and the staff are brilliant, especially Evelyn and Patrick. Breakfast was fantastic - we had a full Irish and a french toast with maple syrup. Both were perfect!

We then strolled around Ballsbridge in the crisp Autumn air soaking up the market in Herbert Park and enjoying a coffee before we checked out and returned to reality!

If you want an alternative to the mainstream hotels, this is it! 5 Stars all around.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Excellent location on Waterloo Road. Close to Aviva Stadium and also easy walk to city centre. Room very nice and bathroom excellent. Breakfast cooked and buffet was also very good with excellent service. Price for this area of Dublin is also very good and we parked out front fro free which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.3 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.3 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing