We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Located Small Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Well Located Small Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

We stayed there two nights and we very happy with the room, the staff, and especially the breakfast room. It is glassed in and overlooks the garden. The breakfasts are cooked to order and quite good. We could walk to the local pubs and restaurants quite easily from there.

Room Tip: There are elevators to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    168
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
85
238
59
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Waterloo House was a very nice place to stay, handy to many restaurants and bus stop very close by. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Room was a little small, but comfortable and clean. Maybe a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alisonnz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Have to take off a star for the breakfast and room was so hot. I had the Irish Breakfast once and the egg was so over cooked the yolk was in chunks. The sausage, meat and black/white pudding were dry yet greasy. I went to my room and promptly vomited.
Location is good a nice walk to St Stephen's Green.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Good clean hotel in a good location, with friendly staff.....but over priced @ 179 per night for what you get, the rooms are small with squeaky floor boards and it's more like a nice B&B than a 4 star Hotel.

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank stickyfatfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto District, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at Waterloo House for 4 nights, and would happily stay there the next time I'm in Dublin. It's a 2-minute walk to the restaurants, cafes and amenities of Baggott Street, and about 15-20 minutes from St Stephen's Green and Grafton Street. There's also a bus stop right outside and taxis are easy to come by. The staff was lovely and very helpful, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The place was recommended by the proprietor of another B&B that happened to book that busy weekend, and I'm very glad she told me about it.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reradway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.3 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.3 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing