We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quiet residential street”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #39 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Good location, quiet residential street surprisingly close to hub of Dublin and football arena (important for September travelers going to GAA football championships). Free parking, which is rare for Dublin. Blocks away from hub of public transportation. Walking distance to Grafton Street and other city center streets. Great selection of hot breakfasts, fresh fruit, cheeses included in room rate served in an intimate atrium room. Free wifi and computer in sitting room for guests to use. Very important if you plan to visit some of the busier places in Dublin (to book online in advance or get info). Staff wonderful,helpful, and friendly. Also has elevator which is very rare in Ireland B&Bs and guesthouses.

Room Tip: quieter rooms upstairs away from kitchen and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Our room was fine, although small. Our general impression was that the hotel - and it is that, not a bed and breakfast - is a bit worn, not bad, but worn. If one had a car, the location might have been a plus. We chose not to drive in the city, hence the free parking was irrelevant and the location was farther from the city center than it might appear on a map. It is a short walk to several good restaurants. Plan to use the bus service which is just down the street.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We only stayed one night at Waterloo House before heading out to other parts of Ireland, but we received a warm welcome. We were even offered tea in the living room when our friends stopped by unexpectedly! Breakfast in the solarium was excellent! Our comfortable room faced the back garden area in this residential area of Dublin. A Starbucks was at the corner, several pubs also. We had a short walk to catch the Hop On, Hop On tour bus. Couldn't have been easier! The only odd thing was the pictures showed bright red doors, but they were painted burgundy now so we couldn't spot it right away. The stairs to the front door from the parking area were very steep making walking in with our luggage a little tricky.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tapatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We couldn't have been happier with the accommodations at Waterloo House. Our room (31) was a bit small but we appreciated the drawer and closet space, and access to the comfortable lounge on the ground floor.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts are outstanding and generous, offered in a bright room overlooking the gardens. Our visit coincided with a bus strike but the walk to some of the main sights (Trinity College, e.g.) was reasonably easy. Some good dining options are close by too - we ate well at Searson's Pub, Waterloo Pub, and at 2 restaurants on Lower Leeson St. - The Farm and Little Kitchen (memorable meal, and a BYOB with no corkage fee).

If you have mobility issues, don't be alarmed if you see the front steps. There's a ramp leading to a lower entrance, and an elevator to all floors.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tak0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Dublin was our last stop on our big Ireland & UK trip and the Waterloo made it even sweeter. The Waterloo is so sweet, lovely through-out, and very professional. The breakfast was in their sunroom area, which was so serene and delicious! Wonderful spread! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location was nice and a bit away from all the loud bars and tourist walkers. We also felt it was a safe area too. This adorable gem is a sure thing!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LucyHurleylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
0.3 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 152 in Dublin
663 reviews
2.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#8 of 152 in Dublin
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 152 in Dublin
1,238 reviews
1.3 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 152 in Dublin
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: €95 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing