We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, decent, but nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap, decent, but nothing special.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Well priced. Small rooms. Breakfast is good but definitely not stunning as some reviewers claim. It's just average. The air in the dining room is fat and thick. Get a better exhaust system in that kitchen please!
But, the location is very central, staf is ok and the rooms are clean. Good beds.
However... Staff told us we could leave our luggage at Hueston Station. We took the Luas (20 mins) to the station only to find out there is NO left luggage in the station! That certainly didn't make us smile...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    251
    146
    51
    33
See reviews for
72
262
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I visited in November, this hotel is in a great location and the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Anne. If I'm ever in Dublin again, I'll definately stay there. Don't understand why this is only rated a 2 star. The room was nice, the breakfast was good and the location was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor is you don't like to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulangel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. Perfect location, everything is walking distance. Room was small but clean, all you really need if you are exploring Dublin. Next to the hotel there is Irish pub - The Celt - has live music every evening, there is also a restaurant, but we did not eat there. Staff was very helpful and friendly and very good was free transfer from and to the airport.

I can recommend this place, do not expect anything romantic or mind blowing, but for the price, very good standard and service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordbroek, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay when you want to go out all day to discover Dublin. If you’d prefer to stay in the hotel for the whole day, by all means: find something else :-)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to use it for an overnight sleep and have a nice Irish breakfast. From where the hotel is located, you can visit most of Dublin’s highlights by foot.
Breakfast is great. Even my wife had a full Irish and she loved it. Once we had to wait for half an hour until there was a table available.
Staff is very helpful and very friendly. Some of them speak English even worse then I do. I don’t mind, but then again: I don’t work in a hotel in Dublin.
We travelled with friends, and our rooms (3) were next to each other, perfect. Rooms were small, and OK. Bathrooms were even smaller.
We used the Paddy coach to travel back to the airport, which was a great experience. I was in luck, and sat right behind the driver. I was not aware that a bus could drive with that many lights on the dashboard, blinking in all kind of colours. Anyway: we made it in time and even saw places in Dublin we haven’t been before (nor we shall probably visit ever after).
Whenever I want to visit Dublin again (with friends or family), I will sure check the availability of a room in The Celtic Lodge.
And last, but not least (after all, I am Dutch): the price was very, very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsfkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The Celtic Lodge is ideal if you want basic digs for a good price in a great location. And 'basic' might differ from person to person. We stayed at the Celtic Lodge on two occasions during a month long visit to Ireland. We didn't mind that due to the size of the second bathroom we had to come out, turn around and then re-enter. Nor did we mind that for a twelve hour period during our three night stay there was no hot water. We did appreciate the OK breakfast and that the staff looked after us when we needed it served before the usual hours on one morning. Other things we liked: the general friendliness of the staff, the clean and cozy beds, the free shuttle on the Paddywagon bus to and from the airport on two occasions (right to the hotel's doorstep), the atmosphere and the music of the Celt Pub, and most of all the central location that gave one easy walking access to all that central Dublin has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
356 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#82 of 151 in Dublin
313 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing