We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent three nights here in January and could not have asked for more. The location was great, near to transport and restaurants and was located in a lovely building. Service was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and well presented and a decent size.

Included breakfast was freshly cooked and filling and the restaurant provided one of the best meals on my trip as well as live music. The hotel allowed us to leave luggage after check out and assisted us in organising transport to the airport.
Great value hotel that I would happily stay in again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    816
    387
    128
    62
See reviews for
398
715
197
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived at your hotel on friday 20/1/12 to a very warm welcome from the receptionist who was more than helpfull on telling us where we should and how to get there by way of public transport..
>
Unfortunetly on the first morning when my girlfriend and i went down to breakfast we were not welcomed by the two waitrese staff downstairs. We went for breakfast at 9.30 and was met by what seemed to be very stressed staff who we did not find to be pleasant at all. We were glad to get out of the breakfast area as soon as we had breakfast, there were a lack of tables set and we were place on a table half set and we had to ask for several items so we could get on with breakfast. The hotel mention in their advertising that the hotel is renowned for its full irish breakfast, why? All we had was a small cooked breakfast of which there was nothing special about it.
>
We were offered by the manager to have our breakfast on the second morning delivered to our bedroom of which we accepted because we did not like the idea of having to go though again what we had to endure on the first morning. Again the braekfast was average and certainly did not live up to their advert.

The bedroon was ok but the shower room was very tired and we were unable to close the shower door properly as it was broken.

Overall we were dissapointed with the hotel and certainly did not feel we were getting value for the money we had paid for the stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevins808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Overall disappointing and didn't meet our expectations compared to what we usually spend on a hotel in the UK.
Travelled as a couple for a romantic weekend and stayed 3 nights during October 2011
Despite making prior arrangements for a smoking room we didn't get one until we asked to change rooms after only 1 day because the first room was so shocking.
2nd room was OK but it did give us an insight into the total inconsistency of the rooms.
1st room - Shabby, wooden fixings not undercoated or glossed, Headboard not fixed to bed or wall, Holes in the wall where raw-plugs used to go, used soap in the shower, uneven floor which was creaky every-time anyone passed our door in the corridor.
The Food: We only stopped for breakfast and this was OK when we eventually managed to catch the eye of one of the serving staff on the 1st day. The 2nd day was better.
The Restaurant: I couldn't see any way for wheelchair access to the restaurant which is located in the basement.
The smoking area at the rear of the premises - I have seen better.
The FOH Staff - Very nice, efficient and attentive, a credit to this hotel.
Lifts: Brilliant, fast & clean.
Not good at all for wheelchairs

Room Tip: Fax or Email if you have specific requirements and get a response before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandAndrew_1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A good value hotel very close to the center of Dublin with friendly staff, comfortable rooms and lounges and a nice bar and restaurant in the vaults.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Lovely old style hotel in a quieter part of Dublin. Reminded me of traveling with family in the early '80s. Clean and recently refurbished though - just had that old family hotel feel. Very good value for money, large rooms and a full breakfast included in our rate. Not too much in the very near vicinity, but only a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,350 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.4 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
683 reviews
0.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing