We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay unless you are planning to party”
Review of The Camden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Camden Hotel
Ranked #131 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was booked in to the Camden deluxe hotel for 3 nights, sunday through to wednesday morning. The hotel is built above a night club, there is no sound proofing in the club or the hotel. I booked in on sunday around midnight (last flight from Liverpool), Dublin had just won the all ireland final and it was party time in Dublin. This meant that the night club was rocking, i went to my room 353, which overlooks the night club and it wouldnt have been any noisier if i had been in the night club. I went to reception and asked if another room was available and was informed it was fully booked. The receptionist informed me that the night club would be open till about 3 am, was closed on monday, but open again on tuesday till 3 am. After 20 minutes in the room, i decided to book out and go to another hotel up the road at twice the price.

The room looked fairly well appointed, but cheaply furnished. I would suggest only staying here if you are planning a night out in Dublin and just want somewhere to crash out after 3 am, as you will get no sleep before then when the night club is open

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and at the front of the building, it may not be as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 289 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

ive been to a fair few places in my time, but this place was terrible, the only thing that was clean was the bed clothes, the bed side lamps had no bulbs in them, the picture on the wall was broken and the door wouldnt lock properly from the inside, went with a friend shopping to city centre so we went in the night before and stayed here to be close to shops for the morning, talk about a shock did we get, reception looks lovely and the staff were nice in fairness, but the rooms totally let the place down, i did like the way they had celebrity names for all the bedrooms though, i thought it was a good idea...but that was about all that i liked....

Room Tip: honestly, i dont think there is a good room here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda_h1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently and after reading the reviews I was a bit worried but I needn't have been!This hotel is fine, it is very central and close to all facilities!The room was very clean maybe a little small but cosy!
The power shower in the bathroom was great and there is a little tv to watch if you're in for a bit!
There is a nightclub next door but this didn't interfere with our sleep at all!I can honestly say I have no complaints , you get what you pay for, it's no frills but a fine hotel in fairness, good value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Realtin3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

writing this on the hotel WIFI in the room. Everything worked as (lights, tv, shower) Tea coffee facilities in room. Not a place for kids, or an early night sleep as the nightclub is right beside. Central location, friendly staff... we got a late check out too. No complaints, good value for the price.. Decent ** hotel, and we have stayed in plenty of the ***** ones too.

Recommended as long as you don't mind the nightclub (maybe that's what you're into)

Room Tip: get a room on the street side maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fra1984waddawedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The only good things about this place are that its cheap and the location is very good. It really is at the very bottom of the scale for hotel accomodation though.

We had a triple room booked but were only provided with 2 tiny worn towels. The beds were also broken and sinking in the middle. bit depressing in general.

The room did look freshly painted but in a horrible green colour. The room was clean though and only cost 75 for the room for the night so it was fine for our purposes. There was no parking and on street parking starts at 7 every morning other than sunday so we had to hop up and put money in the meter from that time (2.90 per hour.)

Its located on Camden street which is about 5 mins walk to the top of st stephens green and grafton street and has plenty of bars and places to eat. avoid the village for food though.. solas is better. Camden street is parallel to Harcourt street which has a couple of clubs including krystal (quite pretentious) d2 and copper faced jacks (always jammed with cheesy music) and is a few minutes walk to tripod and crawdaddy (dance orientated.)

Camden court at the top of the road is a much nicer hotel but generally more expensive. worth it though.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank sallyann82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#71 of 152 in Dublin
763 reviews
Albany House
#60 of 152 in Dublin
845 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 152 in Dublin
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maple Hotel
#135 of 152 in Dublin
541 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#107 of 152 in Dublin
701 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#125 of 152 in Dublin
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Camden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Camden Hotel

Address: 84-87 Lower Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Camden Deluxe Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €52 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Camden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are en-suite, have TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board on request. Fresh Fruit Basket at reception . Elevators to all floors.The palace nightclub is onsite, it operates on a Wednesday ,Thursday, Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Camden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Deluxe Dublin
Hotel Camden Deluxe
Camden Deluxe Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing