We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashling Hotel
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
IOW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect city break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Perfect hotel for a busy city break!
Location is great for all the attractions if you are travelling on foot, by tram or tour bus. Staff were friendly and efficient, changing our room fuss free when there were problems with noise from the exceptional wind during our stay. Lots of lovely added extras too including free wifi, maps of the city, ponchos and luggage storage! Lots of business types around so ideal for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarburstsandOceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,269
    1,548
    332
    72
    33
See reviews for
842
1,917
182
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel ticked all the boxes as the rooms were lovely (we did however upgrade) and it is in a very good location for Dublin city waking. Breakfast was lovely. My only complaint may have been that they were slightly taken aback that we were a gay couple and wished a double room!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here with work and with partner. Its a lovely hotel and the rooms are fab. Right across the road is Heuston Station and the Luas Line into the city centre or the Tallaght direction. Defo would recommend this to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

After having re-read some of the other comments on this hotel I decided to write my own review. My husband and I have just returned from Dublin after a 3 night stay at the Ashling Hotel. I have very high standards and will always check on here for reviews and I was not disappointed at this hotel.
The reception staff were great and every time we asked for a taxi to be booked it was done with no problems at all, not like another poster who blamed the staff for a taxi driver not knowing where he was going? I can't say this happened to us.
When we arrived our room was upgraded from a double to a kingsize room, 460 on the forth floor with views over the river and straight over to the Guinness Factory-what a great bonus! The bed was comfy, the bathroom was big, the shower was good, very clean. Someone mentions there is no air conditioning in the rooms- there is and why you would want air con in February is beyond me!? Our room was tended to by the cleaning staff everyday with the bed being made up and towels put out.
We ate in the hotels restaurant-Chesterfields which I have to say was very nice and again I am quite picky when it comes to where to eat so if I'm pleased then anyone will be!
The hotel is in a great location the tram station is I 2 minute walk at Hueston Station, if you fancy a walk to the city centre its about 15minutes and the Guinness Factory and Kilmainham Jail are both in walking distance and well worth a visit, and the tour buses stop just a 2 minute walk from the hotel.
A great stay and I would definatley recommend to anybody and will stay again when I go back to Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danniwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Location Fantastic - we drove into city and the receptionist gave us very clear instructions to the car park located beside the hotel - parked the car up for the 2 nights for €16!
Luas and taxis just outside the door so easy to get to city centre
We were very lucky to get a room upgrade so had a superior delux kingsize room! Which was fantastic - great space, recently upgraded, modern decor and very quiet - located at the back of the hotel - room 470!
Staff throughout the hotel were so very helpful and pleasant - breakfast fantastic huge choice and very fresh
Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay

Room Tip: Room 470 - great space, superior delux room, newly decorated - very modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleCoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
5.9 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
2.1 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
3.5 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Hotel

Property: Ashling Hotel
Address: Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashling is a stunning Dublin City hotel in a great central location adjacent to Heuston Station and on the Luas red line. International Award Winning 4 Star hotel Dublin incorporating 225 bedrooms including Deluxe Rooms and Suites, 180 seater Chesterfields Restaurant, stylish Iveagh Bar and extensive meeting rooms and conference facilities catering for up to 220 delegates.On Site Carparking, special overnight / 24 hour residents rate.Excellent location in the heart of historic Dublin City, beside the Phoenix Park, Europe's largest enclosed city park. The surrounding area is home to Dublin's premier attractions - Dublin Zoo, Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, Old Jameson Distillery, the National Museum of Ireland, Temple Bar along with shopping districts Grafton ad Henry Street are only a short stroll away.Close by for sporting and concert events is the famous Croke Park, Th 02, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Ashling Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing