We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$293
US$227
Hilton Garden Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road(Dublin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$302
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$252
US$208
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Generator Hostel Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,570)
Filter reviews
4,570 results
Traveller rating
3,172
916
292
112
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,172
916
292
112
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknights barfahrenheit restaurantindigo loungereal castlecity centrefour poster bedmodern amenitiesamazing hotelbus stopdublin airportirelandweddingvijayarmourconciergehowtheuro
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 4,570 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The castle has been beautifully renovated and the lobby area is outright wonderful. Hotel staff is very friendly and supportive. Breakfast in the „Fahrenheit“ is great, although sometimes crowded. The standard rooms (and bathrooms) are slightly less luxurious than one would expect from the advertisements. Ca. one hour walk from city center, or ca. 20 minutes by bus #130 (2,85 €), or ca. 15 minutes and 14 € by taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaroslav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jaroslav B,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback.

Our team takes great pride in delivering a memorable experience for each and every guest, therefore, I was glad to read that on this occasion you were provided with the same exceptional experience.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the array of food at the Artisan Breakfast Buffet. However, I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to your expectations and I hope that this did not affect your stay too much.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in our 3 day/2 night trip to Dublin.
It’s a beautiful setting, presented to a very high standard and fabulous value for money.
I was mildly concerned after book about location- this was unnecessary. You can get the 130 bus from the main road direct to Dublin for about €3/4 each and it takes about 25 minutes, (no quicker by taxi, it’s a very busy city). You MUST have the correct change for the bus though so don’t get caught short!! If you choose to get a taxi, out fairs ranged from €11 to €16 and that was because traffic made the journey take longer. The rooms are beautiful, with more than satisfactory bathrooms. If I HAD to make one criticism (and this is with a gun to my head) all I could suggest as an improvement would be to provide bath sheets as I don’t like smaller towels!
The Fahrenheit restaurant is where you’ll go for breakfast and so you should. It’s far and away the nicest, best quality hotel breakfast I have ever tasted. So many little touches that just set it apart from all the boring hotel breakfasts I’ve had before.
We had an evening meal in the Knights Bar- again, I highly recommend the prime rib of beef burger, it’s was deeeeealiscious!!! Not too expensive either to say it’s such a lovely venue.
The staff couldn’t have been more helpful, and it felt a real treat to stay here. I’d recommend it 100%.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Butterflysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Butterflysmile,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay here at Clontarf Castle.

We are thrilled that your experience with us was pleasant, and that you enjoyed not only the location of Castle, but also the service provided, as our team is dedicated and focused on providing outstanding experiences. It is lovely to hear how well you enjoyed our breakfast offering, as well as your meal in Knights Bar.

We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and that you would consider recommending the Castle to others.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a long time looking at hotels in Dublin before booking and came across this gem. Dublin was busy that weekend due to Two concerts on at the same time.
The hotel is lovely - compared to others that were a similar budget but in central Dublin I am so glad I made this choice!
The staff were so helpful, friendly and really went out of their way to accommodate or make suggestions. The decor, mini art gallery and tasteful restoration make it unique.Bar staff so friendly and made us feel really welcome x

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank julia817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear julia817,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay here at Clontarf Castle.

Here at The Castle we pride ourselves on our warm, friendly associates so I am delighted that your experience was reflective of that. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be very encouraged and delighted to read them.

It is very encouraging to hear how welcome the Knights Bar team made you feel during your stay and that you enjoyed the art gallery throughout the Castle.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel gorgeous, clean, rooms comfortable and affordable. Staff at front desk excellent! Only complaint is if u miss brunch in the morning there is a period of time when they are not serving door until after 12 so you are out of luck.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank calvi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear calvi74,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback.

Our team is dedicated and focused on providing outstanding experiences, and I am glad that this was demonstrated during your time with us.

Our Artisan Breakfast Buffet is from 6.30am – 10.30am during the week, 7:30am – 11am on weekends, once the breakfast is over scones, and refreshments are available in the Indigo Lounge.

Thank you again for your review and we hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the time we drove up the drive and saw this beautiful hotel I knew I would love it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was a bother. The breakfast was everything you wanted, so plenty to choose from.
The rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable bed.
Yvonne from housekeeping brought extra tea and water for me, very friendly.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank suzy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear suzy888,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback.

Our team takes great pride in delivering a memorable experience for each and every guest, therefore, I was glad to read that on this occasion you were provided with the same exceptional experience.

It is lovely to hear how well you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and that you have had consistently good experiences with us. I will pass on your comments to the team, especially Yvonne who will be very encouraged and delighted to read your lovely comments.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews