We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Gala Ball”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Fantastic time, probably the best New Years Eve i have had in a long time. The ball was amazing and despite the large number of guests the food was spot on, it was great and it was hot which in unusual when catering for that number of people.

The room we had was a lot better than our last stay, no masking tape in sight so much improved.

Had a great time, would definately go back, staff were as great as ever, food was awesome, best place to stay near Dublin. Ignore any comments about too far from the city, its not bang in the centre, but you can hardly move it can you. Location great, dont go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,035)
There are newer reviews for Clontarf Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,518 - 3,522 of 4,035 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2010

We already knew that Clontarf Castle would be a 15 min taxi ride into Dublin so were not disappointed when we arrived. I can understand that this may be a problem for some people but the taxis are very prompt and not too expensive. We enjoyed the relative calm of Clontarf after a hectic day in the city. The hotel entrance reminded me of Harry Potter and we really liked the way that they have merged old and new. We were disappointed that the Indigo Lounge never seemed to be open but were pleased to find free internet access in the lobby. The restaurant serves good food and the breakfasts were particularly good. Overall, a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Visually, this is an impressive hotel and in the main, it was a delight to stay here. The food in particularly good; the Fahreinheit Grill is on a par with Michelin starred restaurants and the breakfasts were very good too. In the main staff were friendly and helpful but there tends to be a reliance on the Conceirge which means when he's not around, staff can't help with directions or local informaiton. Unfortunately, for most of our visit the conceirge wasn't around, which resulted in us being given bad directions to a special event and getting lost. Sound proofing was good, we never heard our neighbours.

Downsides, or niggles really: the water pressure in the shower was feeble and the complimentary toiletries weren't really what you'd expect from a four star hotel. Also, the Indigo Lounge was only open over Sunday lunchtime - the rest of the time we were there, it was closed. The Knights Bar was OK, but I was looking forward to an evening sipping cocktails.

The one aspect that we were very disappointed with was the in-house gym. The website describes it as small, which it is, as well as very cold and out of date. I tried the treadmill, but had to step off when the belt started to slip and I realised it was dangerous. I then tried the rowing machine, but again had to give up when I realised it was missing a timing and distance calculator. There wasn't a cross-trainer so we had to give up at this point. The hotel suggests the local Westwood gym as an alternative, but when we drove past one evening, there was a queue of cars waiting to get into the car-park. Perhaps the hotel shouldn't mention it's fitness facilities, they are well below what you'd expect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed for post Christmas break and had wonderful time.

Its a fantastic hotel built around the old castle but with refurbished ultra modern facilities.

Room was a good size and very very well appointed / comfortable. Great bathroom and shower. Ate twice in the bar and food was high quality and for Dublin very cheap at around €11 for mains and €6 for starters. A large glass (175ml) of wine was around €7.

Buffer breakfast was exceptionally good and above all the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful

Location is wonderful. Excellent public transport links to City Centre and a short drive from Howbeit and Malahide.

All this =and we paid just €104 / night B&B for 2 people. It's a steal!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanmcquillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Had an amazing time, loved Dublin!!! The Clontarf Castle was great, had a very nice room, loved the amenities it offered.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank jeffcmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,589 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,340 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,995 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,570 reviews
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €126 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing