We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Annagh House(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,390)
Filter reviews
4,390 results
Traveller rating
3,036
890
282
108
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,036
890
282
108
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknights barfahrenheit grillindigo loungereal castlefour poster bedmodern amenitiescity centreamazing hotelbus stopdublin airportirelandweddingvijayarmourconciergehowtheuro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,855 - 3,860 of 4,390 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We already knew that Clontarf Castle would be a 15 min taxi ride into Dublin so were not disappointed when we arrived. I can understand that this may be a problem for some people but the taxis are very prompt and not too expensive. We enjoyed the relative calm of Clontarf after a hectic day in the city. The hotel entrance reminded me of Harry Potter and we really liked the way that they have merged old and new. We were disappointed that the Indigo Lounge never seemed to be open but were pleased to find free internet access in the lobby. The restaurant serves good food and the breakfasts were particularly good. Overall, a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Visually, this is an impressive hotel and in the main, it was a delight to stay here. The food in particularly good; the Fahreinheit Grill is on a par with Michelin starred restaurants and the breakfasts were very good too. In the main staff were friendly and helpful but there tends to be a reliance on the Conceirge which means when he's not around, staff can't help with directions or local informaiton. Unfortunately, for most of our visit the conceirge wasn't around, which resulted in us being given bad directions to a special event and getting lost. Sound proofing was good, we never heard our neighbours.

Downsides, or niggles really: the water pressure in the shower was feeble and the complimentary toiletries weren't really what you'd expect from a four star hotel. Also, the Indigo Lounge was only open over Sunday lunchtime - the rest of the time we were there, it was closed. The Knights Bar was OK, but I was looking forward to an evening sipping cocktails.

The one aspect that we were very disappointed with was the in-house gym. The website describes it as small, which it is, as well as very cold and out of date. I tried the treadmill, but had to step off when the belt started to slip and I realised it was dangerous. I then tried the rowing machine, but again had to give up when I realised it was missing a timing and distance calculator. There wasn't a cross-trainer so we had to give up at this point. The hotel suggests the local Westwood gym as an alternative, but when we drove past one evening, there was a queue of cars waiting to get into the car-park. Perhaps the hotel shouldn't mention it's fitness facilities, they are well below what you'd expect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed for post Christmas break and had wonderful time.

Its a fantastic hotel built around the old castle but with refurbished ultra modern facilities.

Room was a good size and very very well appointed / comfortable. Great bathroom and shower. Ate twice in the bar and food was high quality and for Dublin very cheap at around €11 for mains and €6 for starters. A large glass (175ml) of wine was around €7.

Buffer breakfast was exceptionally good and above all the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful

Location is wonderful. Excellent public transport links to City Centre and a short drive from Howbeit and Malahide.

All this =and we paid just €104 / night B&B for 2 people. It's a steal!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanmcquillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Had an amazing time, loved Dublin!!! The Clontarf Castle was great, had a very nice room, loved the amenities it offered.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank jeffcmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Clontarf is a cosy hotel, built in an old castle. Location is near Dublin (10 minutes to city center, by car) in a quiet zone. The castle is impressive from outside and very friendly inside. Rooms are not big, but warm and with everything you may need. Reception is nice, and the fireplace in the lobby can boost your energy. Food (breakfast) is ok (could be a little more variety) and you'll be well served. In the moment I've been there, a nice antique fair was kept in weekend. Over all, a cool experience in an excentric place.
PS: Internet is free, even wireless, but if you want to use wireless do not stay in room number 001: no wifi there! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flipendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews