We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion Afternoon Tea Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

My sister in law and myself had our annual afternoon tea treat today at Clontarf castle and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with the most professional and friendly staff. This was one of my favourite afternoon tea treats without a doubt. Delicious food at a very reasonable price, the loveliest staff and a very relaxing atmosphere to top it off. We truely could've sat in the stunning lobby all evening. Special mention to Cormac Rose who was most knowledgeable about all 12 tea choices. He was most welcoming. We will, without a doubt be back. Thank you Clontarf Castle

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Karen C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

It is always so uplifting to hear that enjoyed the Fusion Afternoon Tea that it has become a tradition of sorts. I am truly delighted that we have lived up to your expectations and that you were greeted with a professional and friendly manner by our team.

I am so glad that the food was delicious and that you could enjoy it in a very relaxing atmosphere. Rest assure I will make Cormac aware of his special mention, as I know he will be thrilled to hear that his knowledge of all the twelve teas was noticed and that he was so welcoming.

Thank you again for you kind review and I hope we get to welcome you back again in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 4,248 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

I attended the DCU graduation ball here on Friday 3rd of November. At €70 each for a ticket I was disappointed with the quality of food, service and entertainment provided for the price paid. Firstly there was no choice on the menu, standard ceasar salad, turkey and ham, and apple and rhubarb crumble. The service was slow, with the veg arriving at our table (14) long before the food, leaving it cold when the mains finally arrived. Throughout our time in college we have attended many balls where tickets were sold at half the price with excellent menu choice, efficient service and high quality entertainment in hotels at the same 4 star standard as yourselves. To be honest I feel like we were let down by your hotel on this special occasion.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We arrived a couple hours before our room was ready so we walked around the castle and the cemetery until we could check in. Staying here was one of the most anticipated aspects of this trip and we were not let down. We took breakfast both mornings at Fahrenheit restaurant- freshly smoked lox, soda bread, Wicklow ham, grilled vegetables, Dublin sausages, black and white pudding, poached eggs, smoked cheese, crisp potatoes, fresh squeezed juices, diced fruits and fruit salads, pastries, smoothies, tea, and coffee were just part of what they offered on the breakfast bar. My favourite item was a large box full of honey comb that you could swirl up with a giant dipper and drizzle over your plate. The Knights Bar is great also, and they are open late.

Concierge is very helpful with hailing taxis, wake up calls, local recommendations, and secure storage. The castle plays classical renditions of many gothic favourites from Edward Scissorhands, Dracula, Nightmare Before Christmas, and other spooky films over the sound system, to our delight. Rooms were very clean, beds were so comfortable, and they allow (paid) early check in and late check outs if you like.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank lulumichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear lulumichelle,

Many thanks for your lovely review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

I am delighted to hear that your time with us lived up to your expectations. Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Artisan Breakfast Buffet, I am thrilled that you enjoyed the array of selection so much.

Rest assure I will pass on you kind comments onto the concierge team as I know they will be so happy to hear they were so helpful during your time at the Castle. I am so glad that you felt the Castle linked with the classic gothic greats, especially since Bram Stroker the writer of Dracula was from Clontarf and said to be a regular at the Castle.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I stayed at Clontarf Castle when visiting Dublin on Business and, unfortunately, for only one night as it seems a wonderful hotel. The hotel is set within an old castle and has a lovely peaceful setting. The interior of the hotel seems to have been renovated very recently and there is an excellent and stylish combination of the old charm of the original buildings frontage with modern twist (art work, rich colours of purples and reds etc.).

I arrived late and my check-in was very friendly and efficient. My room on the 2nd floor was very tastefully, elegantly and warmly decorated with a huge flat screen TV, a good size bathroom and large walk-in shower with some high, quality local complementary toiletries. The only down side of the shower was the design with 2 heads and it not being clear which way to turn the tap to make either one work, be-warned as you can get an unexpected spray of luke warm water! The bed was very large and comfortable and the room was quiet, despite the hotel seeming pretty full.
I only had one negative comment and that was that when I got to my room I decided to order a hot meal as room service which was shown as available until 11pm on the room service card. However, I was told that only sandwiches were available and, when I pointed out I was only 2 minutes late, I was told that the hot meals actually ended at 9pm. Firstly, this seems pretty early and secondly if that is the case then the hotel needs to correct the room service cards.

However, the breakfast the next day made up for this as it was absolutely superb with a huge array of cold and hot locally sourced produce. I stay in many hotels on both Business and leisure and rated the overall quality of breakfast and friendly service as being exceptional.

Check Out was again very quick, friendly and efficient although I’m still awaiting my Invoice to be emailed through as I had requested, so will have to chase up.

Overall my stay at Clontarf Castle was all too brief but I really loved the way the hotel had been designed, its overall ambiance, friendliness and comfort. Despite the couple of negative points I described, I will definitely being staying again when I next come back to Dublin and would recommend highly!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Robesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Robesi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

I am thrilled to see that you felt there was an excellent and stylish combination of the old charm of the original buildings with a modern twist of the new. I am also delighted that your check in was friendly and efficient and that your bedroom was elegant and warmly decorated.

It is all I can do but apologise for the confusion caused by the room service cards and can assure you that this matter will be looked into further and has been passed onto the relevant departments. I am glad however to hear that your dining experience in the Artisan Breakfast Buffet made up for this and that you enjoyed the array of locally sourced food that was displayed.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the team, as I know they strive to make everyone’s time at the Castle memorable and to hear that their service was exceptional shows they are doing just that.

Should future travels take you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel, or if you have yet to receive your invoice please reach out to me directly so I can personally tend to your reservation and look after your room allocations.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
jormston@clontarfcastle.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, booked by a colleague. Can’t fault any of it really, the breakfast was fantastic and catered for all. The decoration is very high quality albeit very historic and regal. But you are staying in a castle! Unfortunately due to staying with work, I didn’t really get chance to take advantage of the whole hotel. But the bedrooms are nice. You get tea, coffee, soaps etc. There is a chargeable minibar, but I didn’t use it. I found the beds to be very comfortable and slept quite well for a change.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Andrewd4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Andrewd4m,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

I am delighted that you found the Castle beautiful and that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am thrilled to hear that you could not fault the hotel in any way and that your dining experience at the Artisan Breakfast Buffet was fantastic.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the décor of the Castle, and I am so happy to hear that you were able to get a good night’s sleep due to the beds. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,735 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,534 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,653 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,749 reviews
4.4 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €113 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing