We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, booked by a colleague. Can’t fault any of it really, the breakfast was fantastic and catered for all. The decoration is very high quality albeit very historic and regal. But you are staying in a castle! Unfortunately due to staying with work, I didn’t really get chance to take advantage of the whole hotel. But the bedrooms are nice. You get tea, coffee, soaps etc. There is a chargeable minibar, but I didn’t use it. I found the beds to be very comfortable and slept quite well for a change.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Andrewd4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Andrewd4m,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

I am delighted that you found the Castle beautiful and that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am thrilled to hear that you could not fault the hotel in any way and that your dining experience at the Artisan Breakfast Buffet was fantastic.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the décor of the Castle, and I am so happy to hear that you were able to get a good night’s sleep due to the beds. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 4,289 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Highly recommend Clontarf Castle for hosting your wedding. The service is professional, friendly, personal and good value. Nothing was ever a problem and the team were always at hand for anything we wanted. The guests at the wedding all commented on how great the food was with plenty of food and wine for everyone.

Room Tip: Luxurious rooms,great location, amazing food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manski87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Manski87,

Many thanks for your lovely review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

Thank you so much for choosing the Castle to be a part of such a special event. I am truly delight that our team provided you with a service that was professional, friendly and personal. I am so glad to hear that the team were always on hand to help you when needed.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I wanted to stay in one castle on our trip to Ireland and we did.We only spend one night in this hotel but it was lovely. We got the family room there were 5 of us. We all fit but it was tight wit all of us and all the luggage. That said the room was clean and nicely updated. The service at check in, in the pub and at breakfast the next morning was great. The staff was very knowledgable and friendly. They even had a printer (free of charge) to do airport checkin and print out boarding passes.
Really great place to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Inna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Inna K,

Many thanks for your lovely review about your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

Thank you for choosing Clontarf Castle as final destination on your trip around Ireland. I am so glad that your stay with us was lovely and that service form the team throughout the Castle was great, knowledgeable and friendly. I am delighted that the team could help in making your final day in Ireland memorable and enjoyable.

Thank you again for your kind review and I hope we get to welcome you back again in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stayed at the Clontarf at the end of our trip because it was close to the airport. It is a pretty cool hotel, easy check in, room was a little small but clean. Nice shower....quiet.
We went downstairs in the pub and struck up some conversations which was nice and met some new people! The pub has excellent food and the wait staff work their bottoms off. I would recommend the hotel while visiting Dublin for sure...

Room Tip: Great for Airport access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Heidi R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Castle and that your check in was easy. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Knights Bar and that your meal was excellent. Rest assured I will pass on your kind comments onto the Knights Bar team, as I know they will be so happy to hear their hard work was recognised.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for your review.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The hotel was easily accessible to downtown Dublin by bus, as we appreciated the quiet location. We dined at the Castle for dinner, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal(s).
Hotel staff went over and beyond to provide top service--except for the breakfast crew. I could not give a '5' because of the breakfast. Although we paid extra for this meal, we found that the buffet items had been emptied and not refilled, long before the end of the breakfast hour, which we thought disappointing. I asked for a Flat White coffee and was told any such specialty coffees were unavailable. Given the overall quality of everything else in the hotel, the breakfast food and service seemed to stick out in terms of less than pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bathtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Ormston, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear bathtravel123,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clontarf Castle.

I am delighted that the quiet location of the Castle was to your liking and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals at the Fahrenheit restaurant. Thank you for your kind comments about the team at the Castle, I am so glad that they went above and beyond to provide you with top service.

It is all I can do but apologise for your experience at the Artisan Breakfast Buffet. I can assure you, your feedback has been shared with the Restaurant Manager and will be investigated.

Should future travels take you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel, please reach out to me directly so I can personally tend to your reservation.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
jormston@clontarfcastle.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,563 reviews
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,762 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,776 reviews
4.4 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €118 - €294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing