We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had an excellent overnight stay at Clontarf Castle, the building is beautifully converted into a hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant excellent.
The location is wonderful for reaching the city centre and the local beach. Excellent all round venue.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience and we thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experience in Fahrenheit Restaurant.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 605 of 4,197 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

My friend and I only stayed for one night before going north, but I wish we were there all week.

- It's cozier than I was expecting and so much nicer.
- The front desk staff is AMAZING, especially Arden, who went above and beyond.
- The beds are comfortable.
- It's easy access to the bus into the city.
- The breakfast is unbelievably fresh and the restaurant is beautiful.
- They let us check in early after traveling all night.
- The bar is fun, but not stuffy, and the staff is attentive.
- There's a lot of outlets and USB ports in room.
- The attention to detail in the decor is impressive. Our rooms were completely different, but both lovely.

I've stayed in many top-notch hotels, including Ritz Carltons, but Clontarf is my new favorite. Throughout our Ireland trip, we kept saying, "I wish we could go back to the Clontarf."

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank OKCm0m9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear OKCm0m9,

On behalf of all the team at Clontarf Castle Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Castle. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that Clontarf Castle is now your favourite hotel to stay in, thank you very much. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are delighted to share your comments with the team, who undoubtedly will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for your review and we hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My husband and I had been attending an antiques fair at this hotel on Sunday and managed to lose our car keys during the packing up at the end. Tina the receptionist tried her very best to get us a locksmith but, due to it being late and a Sunday night, no one could do anything until the next morning so we had no alternative but to book in for the night. I can only say it was a lovely experience after a traumatic 3 hours searching for the blooming keys!. Tina was so helpful getting us sorted out with a room and whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable and,with the help of the lovely concierge Brian, made sure our stock was secure for the night in the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a long or short stay with its stunning decor, very comfortable beds and good food and of course staff that go that extra mile to make sure their customers are happy.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smg27Lisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Smg27Lisburn,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle. I am thrilled to hear that Tina and Brian both looked after you so well especially as you had the horrid experience of losing your keys! Our team here at The Castle are very passionate about delivering a highly personalized service and I am very glad this was apparent to you.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This was a fabulous hotel!! We were supposed to stay here 3 night but due to a cancelled flight only stayed 2 nights. When we got there they were so accommodating. After a really bad experience with the airlines & lost luggage the hotel was great. Offering to print things off computer for us, directions and rounding up a bunch of toiletries as we had nothing!! This place always was extremely friendly and did everything to accommodate us. Staff was amazing. Highly recommend. What a beautiful place to stay as well.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rsherman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear rsherman1975,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, thank you for your very kind comments about the service you received from our very talented team that we have here at the Castle. That is such a pity that you experienced such trouble with your flight however I am very pleased to hear that our team looked after you so well during your stay with us.

Thanks again and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Silly, but maybe the best quirk of this outstanding hotel was the American plug in the room!!

The sheets were high-quality, as were the pillows and although the shower took some getting used to (lots of levers and choices) the water was strong and warm and perfectly what we needed for a long night after arriving that morning in Dublin and tromping around all day.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Paul S.

Thank you sincerely for this lovely review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us from your recent visit. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the amenities in you guest room.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,687 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,697 reviews
4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €117 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing