We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most amazing front of house staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“most amazing front of house staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had been attending an antiques fair at this hotel on Sunday and managed to lose our car keys during the packing up at the end. Tina the receptionist tried her very best to get us a locksmith but, due to it being late and a Sunday night, no one could do anything until the next morning so we had no alternative but to book in for the night. I can only say it was a lovely experience after a traumatic 3 hours searching for the blooming keys!. Tina was so helpful getting us sorted out with a room and whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable and,with the help of the lovely concierge Brian, made sure our stock was secure for the night in the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a long or short stay with its stunning decor, very comfortable beds and good food and of course staff that go that extra mile to make sure their customers are happy.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smg27Lisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Smg27Lisburn,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle. I am thrilled to hear that Tina and Brian both looked after you so well especially as you had the horrid experience of losing your keys! Our team here at The Castle are very passionate about delivering a highly personalized service and I am very glad this was apparent to you.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,390
    758
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
751
1,726
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a fabulous hotel!! We were supposed to stay here 3 night but due to a cancelled flight only stayed 2 nights. When we got there they were so accommodating. After a really bad experience with the airlines & lost luggage the hotel was great. Offering to print things off computer for us, directions and rounding up a bunch of toiletries as we had nothing!! This place always was extremely friendly and did everything to accommodate us. Staff was amazing. Highly recommend. What a beautiful place to stay as well.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rsherman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear rsherman1975,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, thank you for your very kind comments about the service you received from our very talented team that we have here at the Castle. That is such a pity that you experienced such trouble with your flight however I am very pleased to hear that our team looked after you so well during your stay with us.

Thanks again and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Silly, but maybe the best quirk of this outstanding hotel was the American plug in the room!!

The sheets were high-quality, as were the pillows and although the shower took some getting used to (lots of levers and choices) the water was strong and warm and perfectly what we needed for a long night after arriving that morning in Dublin and tromping around all day.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Paul S.

Thank you sincerely for this lovely review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us from your recent visit. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the amenities in you guest room.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

All I can say is our stay with them was amazing, rooms were spacious an very clean,beds were comfortable an bathroom was spotless. The Castle itself was well inter grated with modern and old. We ate both nights in the Knights bar the food was excellent along with the portion size an very good value. The Buffett breakfast was superb lots of variety. The staff were friendly and helpful an we shall definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dayln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dalyn,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel following your recent visit to our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in particular your dining experience in the legendary Knights Bar. We have recently launched our new Gastro Style bar menu in Knights Bar so your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome and an efficient check in from Vijay on reception, which set the tone for our stay.
Our accommodation was luxurious with a four poster bed with a very comfortable mattress. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Dinner in the Fahrenheit Restaurant was of the highest standard with great service from Melanie and Jamie. The same friendly and attentive service was experienced in the Knights Bar with the best pint of Guinness I've had in a long time. Breakfast was amazing with something to suit every taste.
We enjoyed the eclectic collection of art on display throughout the hotel. (Guide available at reception). It was lovely to relax in the foyer and soak in the atmosphere of this wonderful old building with its huge open fire and exposed original stone castle walls.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Wglas,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit especially your dining experience in Fahrenheit Restaurant. Please be assured that I will notify Vijay, Melanie and Jamie of your kind comments and they will be truly delighted.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,177 reviews
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing