We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, lovely staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome and an efficient check in from Vijay on reception, which set the tone for our stay.
Our accommodation was luxurious with a four poster bed with a very comfortable mattress. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Dinner in the Fahrenheit Restaurant was of the highest standard with great service from Melanie and Jamie. The same friendly and attentive service was experienced in the Knights Bar with the best pint of Guinness I've had in a long time. Breakfast was amazing with something to suit every taste.
We enjoyed the eclectic collection of art on display throughout the hotel. (Guide available at reception). It was lovely to relax in the foyer and soak in the atmosphere of this wonderful old building with its huge open fire and exposed original stone castle walls.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Wglas,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit especially your dining experience in Fahrenheit Restaurant. Please be assured that I will notify Vijay, Melanie and Jamie of your kind comments and they will be truly delighted.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    756
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
747
1,724
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing place. The staff was so kind and helpful. Ate in the restaurant twice and both times the food was excellent and wait staff so good and accommodating. Rooms are big ( European standards ) and beds very comfortable

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear kimmarie H,

Many thanks for your brilliant review following your recent stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Castle in particular both your dining experiences in Fahrenheit Restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

LOVE this place! It's got charm and history but all the modern amenities you'd need. The rooms are spacious and updated. The beds are comfortable. The castle itself is cool to explore. The restaurant and bar are great! Two thumbs up!
My only suggestion would be to add in-room movies.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AimeeLally,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Castle. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. I have passed on your comments regarding in-room movies to our Accommodation Manager and this will be looked into further.

Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is really as a small castle. I was impressed by the interior and exterior. You can feel the specific spirit of the Middle Ages through the prism of contemporary trends which for me was very interesting as an idea.
The breakfast is very good, the staff is friendly and helpful. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desislava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Desislava D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time and that you particularly the historical yet contemporary decor of our 12th century Castle Hotel.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After spending 9 days throughout Ireland, we finished our trip in Dublin. The hotel is okay, bed is comfy, rooms are super small with 1 very small window that does not open! Candles are lit every where.....beware.....they are scented! The kind of smell that does not leave your nose for quite awhile! The scent is so strong, it makes you wonder what they are trying to cover up. Staff was nice and very helpful. The hotel did not measure up to what I expected, it was okay. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Amy K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that there were some elements to your stay that you were unsatisfied with and please be assured that I have passed on your comments regarding your room to our Accommodation Manager. I do apologise that you did not like the scent of our hotel and I can assure you that our candles are not scented. I do believe that you may be referring to our air fresher that is located at the main entrance of the hotel. I have passed on your comments to the relevant manager to be investigated further.

Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention and we would love an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,269 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing