We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing place. The staff was so kind and helpful. Ate in the restaurant twice and both times the food was excellent and wait staff so good and accommodating. Rooms are big ( European standards ) and beds very comfortable

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Kimmarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear kimmarie H,

Many thanks for your brilliant review following your recent stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Castle in particular both your dining experiences in Fahrenheit Restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 609 of 4,193 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

LOVE this place! It's got charm and history but all the modern amenities you'd need. The rooms are spacious and updated. The beds are comfortable. The castle itself is cool to explore. The restaurant and bar are great! Two thumbs up!
My only suggestion would be to add in-room movies.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear AimeeLally,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Castle. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. I have passed on your comments regarding in-room movies to our Accommodation Manager and this will be looked into further.

Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The hotel is really as a small castle. I was impressed by the interior and exterior. You can feel the specific spirit of the Middle Ages through the prism of contemporary trends which for me was very interesting as an idea.
The breakfast is very good, the staff is friendly and helpful. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Desislava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Desislava D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time and that you particularly the historical yet contemporary decor of our 12th century Castle Hotel.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

After spending 9 days throughout Ireland, we finished our trip in Dublin. The hotel is okay, bed is comfy, rooms are super small with 1 very small window that does not open! Candles are lit every where.....beware.....they are scented! The kind of smell that does not leave your nose for quite awhile! The scent is so strong, it makes you wonder what they are trying to cover up. Staff was nice and very helpful. The hotel did not measure up to what I expected, it was okay. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Amy K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that there were some elements to your stay that you were unsatisfied with and please be assured that I have passed on your comments regarding your room to our Accommodation Manager. I do apologise that you did not like the scent of our hotel and I can assure you that our candles are not scented. I do believe that you may be referring to our air fresher that is located at the main entrance of the hotel. I have passed on your comments to the relevant manager to be investigated further.

Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention and we would love an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with three colleagues just for one night. So peaceful, so atmospheric.

All of our reactions afterwards were the same - what a beautiful place and the service was top notch.
We didn't eat there in the evening (tempted by the venison though...) but the breakfast was excellent - brilliant wide selection and all. Wry good quality.
Definitely will return.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank SkinnyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear SkinnyAndy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you and your colleagues thoroughly enjoyed your stay in particular your artisan castle breakfast experience in Fahrenheit Restaurant.

We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and your kind words are greatly appreciated by all the team here at Clontarf Castle Hotel.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,684 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,487 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €117 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing