We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$328
US$302
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Generator Hostel Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,494)
Filter reviews
4,494 results
Traveller rating
3,116
906
287
110
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,116
906
287
110
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknights barfahrenheit grillindigo loungereal castlefour poster bedmodern amenitiescity centreamazing hotelbus stopdublin airportirelandweddingvijayarmourconciergehowtheuro
Filter
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 4,494 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Was home in Ireland for a week and wanted to get away for a night with my niece and
sisters. I chose Clontarf Castle Hotel based on other reviews and it certainly did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist, Tina, who was so sweet and so helpful. We booked a large family room for the four of us and it was a nice size on the second floor, close to the restaurant. The bathroom could certainly use some new grouting and updating. It was looking a little old. We booked a special offer one evening meal and breakfast included. Had dinner that night and the service and food were great. We had a young waiter and he was very pleasant and helpful. There are so many great comfortable places to sit in this hotel and lots of fires going. Breakfast was amazing, the buffet was really wonderful with really great food. This hotel is 15 minutes from the city center so it's in a perfect location. They took care of our bags for us while we went shopping and when we came back we decided to have lunch in the bar. Again the food was incredible and a great atmosphere in the bar. There was some big sport event there that day so it was very busy but the staff here are just so incredibly nice. I only wish we had stayed two nights. I loved everything about this place, the interior is beautiful but the staff really make it so pleasant. Can't wait to return and can't believe how affordable it was.

Room Tip: Second floor room was close to restaurant which was nice.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank my4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Dear my4boys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us here at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience and we thank you for your kind comments about the exceptional service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. Please be assured that I will notify the entire team of your feedback especially Tina, who will be delighted with your kind comments.

Thanks again for your brilliant review and I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clontarf Castle Hotel in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

had a lovely stay at the Clontarf castle. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, couldn't ask for more.

Receptionist gave us an upgrade as it was my partners birthday and also brought us up a happy birthday treat. That was appreciated and made it all complete.

Can totally recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Stephen M,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, thank you for your very kind comments about the team and facilities we have here at the Castle. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience especially as it was for your partner’s birthday. Thanks again and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and lovely staff! They were very helpful from getting us a taxi to recommending restaurants. The rooms were clean. We didn't eat at the restaurant on site but friends of ours did and they said it was excellent.

I truly felt like I was staying in a castle! I have no complaints!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank njgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear njgriff,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in particular the beauty of our 12th century Castle Hotel. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Visited this lovely hotel during a rugby weekend and had hoped to watch the match in a bar/lounge with other Ireland loving fans. It's just not that sort of place and for many that's a good thing. One might describe everything about the hotel as "very very civilised ".
Very lovely lunch menu on offer and the staff were excellent. Food was very good but be warned; they don't stint on portions. So you need a good walk afterwards.
The hotel itself is tucked away from the main thoroughfare but only 10 minutes or so brings you down onto the main road.
The hotel decor is amazing. They have tastefully built around the remains of the castle and because of that there are all sorts of nooks and strange spaces on the ground floor. That actually adds to the character of the place.
There are of course all the ancient items sprinkled around giving many super opportunities for photos.
We didn't book the restaurant in advance on unfortunately on our arrival it was already fully booked. I've heard great reports about it and was disappointed to miss out on the experience.
The room was very good with everything you might need.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Mary M,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Castle and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the historical yet contemporary decor of our 12th century castle hotel. I do apologise that we had no availability in Fahrenheit however hopefully on your next visit you can dine in our restaurant

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
44
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on the outskirts of Dublin in February 2017.
Nice hotel in a rebuild/converted castle. Good room with four poster bed.
Excellent service from all the staff, especially Vijay in the reception and Karen in the Knights Bar.
Very nice (yet slightly expensive) breakfast.
Good reasonably priced homey food served in the Knights Bar. Sadly, we didn't manage to get a table in the more posh Fahrenheit restaurant, it looked good though...
Only negative thing I have to mention is the need for some in-depth cleaning of the chandeliers, especially in the eating areas.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle in particular the service you received from our professional and friendly team. Please be assured that I will notify both Vijay and Karen of your kind comments and they will be truly delighted.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your review.

Jason Ormston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews