We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome in a magical hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in a magical hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017

I can't say enough nice things about this hotel but I'll try.
I have been celebrating my Birthdays at this hotel every year since my 40th.
I'm now 52 from the moment you enter the grounds and see the magnificent Castle you know you are some where really special.
The Breakfast is served buffet style with lovely bacon ,sausage,right up to fresh honey and Greek yoghurt.
Knights bar offer a casual and relaxed atmosphere where staff are always on hand with good advice on choosing a delicious meal.
All rooms have been fully refurbished last year and are amazing.
This is a really great hotel if you want to celebrate a special occasion.
Thank you to all the staff for making my Birthday really special I look forward to staying next year.
Also a special thank you to Jason Ormston for the lovely surprise.

Room Tip: Bed and breakfast is excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear 4leeds,

Many thanks for your brilliant review following your recent stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Castle especially as it was for such a special occasion, your birthday! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are delighted to share your comments with the team, who undoubtedly will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for your review and we hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Castle again.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,381
    755
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
745
1,723
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017

Was home in Ireland for a week and wanted to get away for a night with my niece and
sisters. I chose Clontarf Castle Hotel based on other reviews and it certainly did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist, Tina, who was so sweet and so helpful. We booked a large family room for the four of us and it was a nice size on the second floor, close to the restaurant. The bathroom could certainly use some new grouting and updating. It was looking a little old. We booked a special offer one evening meal and breakfast included. Had dinner that night and the service and food were great. We had a young waiter and he was very pleasant and helpful. There are so many great comfortable places to sit in this hotel and lots of fires going. Breakfast was amazing, the buffet was really wonderful with really great food. This hotel is 15 minutes from the city center so it's in a perfect location. They took care of our bags for us while we went shopping and when we came back we decided to have lunch in the bar. Again the food was incredible and a great atmosphere in the bar. There was some big sport event there that day so it was very busy but the staff here are just so incredibly nice. I only wish we had stayed two nights. I loved everything about this place, the interior is beautiful but the staff really make it so pleasant. Can't wait to return and can't believe how affordable it was.

Room Tip: Second floor room was close to restaurant which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Dear my4boys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us here at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience and we thank you for your kind comments about the exceptional service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. Please be assured that I will notify the entire team of your feedback especially Tina, who will be delighted with your kind comments.

Thanks again for your brilliant review and I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clontarf Castle Hotel in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

had a lovely stay at the Clontarf castle. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, couldn't ask for more.

Receptionist gave us an upgrade as it was my partners birthday and also brought us up a happy birthday treat. That was appreciated and made it all complete.

Can totally recommend the hotel

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Dear Stephen M,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, thank you for your very kind comments about the team and facilities we have here at the Castle. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience especially as it was for your partner’s birthday. Thanks again and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and lovely staff! They were very helpful from getting us a taxi to recommending restaurants. The rooms were clean. We didn't eat at the restaurant on site but friends of ours did and they said it was excellent.

I truly felt like I was staying in a castle! I have no complaints!

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank njgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Dear njgriff,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in particular the beauty of our 12th century Castle Hotel. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Visited this lovely hotel during a rugby weekend and had hoped to watch the match in a bar/lounge with other Ireland loving fans. It's just not that sort of place and for many that's a good thing. One might describe everything about the hotel as "very very civilised ".
Very lovely lunch menu on offer and the staff were excellent. Food was very good but be warned; they don't stint on portions. So you need a good walk afterwards.
The hotel itself is tucked away from the main thoroughfare but only 10 minutes or so brings you down onto the main road.
The hotel decor is amazing. They have tastefully built around the remains of the castle and because of that there are all sorts of nooks and strange spaces on the ground floor. That actually adds to the character of the place.
There are of course all the ancient items sprinkled around giving many super opportunities for photos.
We didn't book the restaurant in advance on unfortunately on our arrival it was already fully booked. I've heard great reports about it and was disappointed to miss out on the experience.
The room was very good with everything you might need.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOrmstonClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Dear Mary M,

On behalf of everybody here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, I would like thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Castle and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the historical yet contemporary decor of our 12th century castle hotel. I do apologise that we had no availability in Fahrenheit however hopefully on your next visit you can dine in our restaurant

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Jason Ormston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,174 reviews
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing