We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2009

On arrival the castle looked fantastic. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived but we just had to wait about half an hour, got food in the Indigo Lounge which was lovely, busy restaurant but we werent waiting very long.

We got a free upgrade to Executtive Room on the 4th floor. Bed was massive with a pillow mattress, it was sooo comfy! 2 velux windows at the side of the bed, with remote control blinds! Flat screen TV with a good few channels. Tea, coffee making facilities and sparkling water. Bathrobes, ironing board & safe also available there was a bath & separate shower was hoping for a jacuzzi tho...ah well cant get everything!!

The nites we stayed there were christmas parties on, there was carol singing in the lobby till about 8 and it could be heard all around the castle, it was real christmasy!!

Bus service to town was just 5 mins walk from the castle, it comes every 10mins, turn right, then left, then right, bus stop at the sea front. takes you straight into Abbey Street for about 1.20euros it takes about 20mins.

We stayed in the castle in the evenings, had drinks in the Knights Bar, very warm friendly bar. Note to smokers, your not allowed take your drink outside with you while you have a ciggy, i got given out to by the bouncer in front of everyone at the christmas party!! Very embarrassing....

Overall i would def recommend staying here, we got a special deal for 2 nites, eur225, shop around, you'll get cheaper than whats on the website!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you received a free upgrade to one of our beautiful executive rooms and got to experience the Christmas Carol singing during your visit!

Once again, many thanks for all of your feedback and should you have any future queries at all, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,852 - 3,856 of 4,289 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2009

I have to agree with the review below, people are very very fussy if they weren't happy with this beautiful hotel! Stayed in a junior suite Mon 12th Jan. Staff were very friendly with fast check-in. Room was great with a huge 4 poster bed, nice bathroom, mini bar, flat screen tv etc. Room extremely clean and tidy. Ate in Knights Bar for din and Farenheit Grill for breakfast, both meals were lovely with fast, friendly service. We drove into city centre after check-out which took about 20 mins. Perfect for a quiet, relaxing stay yet not too far from city centre, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frankiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel beautiful and the staff friendly.

You are indeed correct that we are in an ideal location. Located just 2 miles from city centre, guests can experience the best of both worlds, with all amenities within close proximity to the hotel, however away from the hustle and bustle of city centre.

Once again, thank you for all of your feedback and on behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle Hotel, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Pros: Beautiful, clean, very comfortable modern room, extremely friendly staff, cool castle decor in lobby, quick easy check-in, check out

Cons: none

We arrived on January 1st and there was no line checking in. The concierge was very helpful and friendly. Later a second concierge went above and beyond to help us get airport info, directions, let me use their internet access, etc. The beds were SO comfortable. In fact, I travel alot and have never come across such a comfortable bed. It gave my pillow-top at home a run for the money. The room was incredibly modern (even had a US electrical outlet) and decorated beautifully. We had a car and it was convenient enough for us from the city centre. Yes, the price was high but it was worth every penny.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank luvs2run27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2009

Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear that your time in Clontarf Castle Hotel was well spent.

I wish to thank you for taking the time out to illustrate online, your thoughts and experiences in our hotel.

You are indeed correct that our beds are very comfortable. We are often complimented on our "pillow top mattresses" that ensure the perfect night's rest!

Once again, many thanks for all of your feedback and on behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We selected Clontarf based on 2 reasons. 1 being it was themed as a Castle and 2 being it was located away from the hustle bustle and noise of the Dublin City Center. The hotel has its own restaurants and bar on-site which are nice features.

The buffet breakfasts were quite costly at 23.00 Euros. We did not see an option to just order separately from a menu. We are not big eaters so we never felt like we got our monies worth. The Knights Bar was a fantastic place to relax after a day of touristy activities. The food was very reasonably priced with a good selection to choose from.

There is a bus stop well within a short walk of the hotel that will take you to the city center for 1.70 Euros (exact change). 1.70 Euros will return you directly to the Clontarf. They have a concierge desk that will assist you in booking the various tours that are offered for Dublin.

Unfortunately we found out that in mid-December, Clontarf is booked almost nightly with Christmas Parties. For the most part the noise is confined to the main floor but we did experiencing the effects of over-indulgence of the guests attending these parties. Friday and Saturday nights were impossible to sleep with drunken guests running up and down the hallways all hours of the night well into sunrise in the morning. We experienced loud parties in the adjacent rooms as well. We felt that management should have done a better job of controlling this noise and would suggest in future December months that management book the Christmas Party guests on one of the lowest floors and the regular guests on an upper floor. We spent 5 nights at Clontarf and can honestly say that Monday night was the only night we got a full night’s sleep as there was no party going on that night. That's really a sad commentary.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank Squeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I wish to sincerely apologise about your lack of sleep throughout your stay and will certainly circulate your feedback regarding the noise you experienced due to Clontarf Castle Christmas Party Nights.

Should you wish to return to Clontarf Castle in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will do my utmost to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Coming home after 48 yrs in the USA, I brought my husband who has never been out of the States. While I was delighted with the Castle, the concierge/staff , and everything else, he was totally blown away..couldn't believe the beautiful rooms and our dining experience. I was so happy that his first impression of my homeland..Ireland,..was such a great experience for him. We have done nothing but talk about our trip and he proudly shows off the pictures we took. Thank you for an absoluely wonderful experience! We will be back in 2010, and will definately stay at the castle again.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank briannaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you decided to visit Clontarf Castle Hotel on your return home after 48 years.I am also happy to hear that we made a fantastic first impression on your husband.

Here at Clontarf Castle we very much appreciate all feedback and are always pleased to hear when a guest has a most memorable experience here at our hotel.

On behalf of the team here at Clontarf Castle we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,563 reviews
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,760 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,776 reviews
4.4 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €118 - €294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing