We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I arranged to meet a friend at Clontarf Castle for a drink and a quick catch up while passing through Dublin. I had the dog in the car and after we were settled in by the huge fire in the foyer area I asked if they would mind if I got the dog to sit beside us. The concierge said he didn't mind as it was fairly quiet but would check with the duty manager and who also gave us the thumbs us.
The concierge on duty was great, a really lovely personality to add to the hotel as was the duty manager! The dog got lots of attention. I might be bias but she's a lab and just seemed to complete the picture stretched out in front of the large fireplace. She even got her photo taken by some other guest.
I stayed here a four or five years ago and it was a nice experience then also.
We stayed a lot longer than we planned and had a lovely evening. Thanks for being dog friendly on this occasion. I've found it's quite rare for Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaleenBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. It's great to read that you had such a lovely experience while meeting a friend in the hotel. I'm glad that the staff here treated you so well and that your dog also felt at home! Thanks again for your feedback and we'd love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,031 - 3,035 of 4,190 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Clontarf is really a castle. Although, it's been heavily modernized, there are still some remnants of the ancient appeal. You can't beat the price! It seems like a place a lot of locals use for graduations etc (as we saw when we were there). We were there for 3 days during the final leg of our honeymoon.

The only downfall I would say is the location. Be prepared to spend money on a taxi because it is 15 - 20 minutes from the actual center of Dublin. I would recommend, start your days early and come home late to avoid too much in taxi fares.

It's a fantastic cozy, relaxing place to stay though!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the caslte, particularly as it was part of your honeymoon. The castle is located a couple of miles outside the city in a quiet area of Dublin. However, with excellent public transport links, we feel we offer guests the best of both worlds. Thanks again for your feedback and we'd love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a birthday celebration - 8 adults & 2 toddlers. We got a really good deal through Travelzoo. Checked in early with no problems & headed into the bar for lunch. Very busy but with a lovely atmosphere & very efficient staff. Great selection of bar meals at good prices & our choices all tasted very nice. Rooms were a good size & well presented. Dinner in the restaurant was very good - although they had got our booking a bit mixed up. That was soon sorted by the very efficient, friendly staff. All the staff throughout the hotel made our stay very enjoyable & they were very attentive to the needs of the 2 toddlers in our group. Breakfast was self service with a varied selection of hot & cold food. Excellent fresh fruit salad & good quality bacon & sausages. Again the staff were very attentive & offered to bring hot milk out for the little ones breakfasts. Lots of lovely relaxing seated areas throughout the hotel which was great for our group as we didn't want to spend the evening in the bar with 2 toddlers. I would certainly return to this hotel as would the rest of our family. The only thing missing from this beautiful hotel is a swimming pool & jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted with all your comments and i'm really glad that you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us. It's particularly great to read that you found the staff to be efficient and the food to be so good. These are just some of the areas that we pride ourselves on and strive to offer our guests the best possible quality. Thanks again for the great feedback and we'd be happy to welcome you and your family back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed overnight with my husband for a post-christmas treat. Couldn't praise the place enough and don't know where to start. This is a genuine irish castle and everything you'd expect to see in that regard is there. We spent a very pleasant few hours in a cosy nook of the old castle furnished with three comfy armchairs around a little table and were left to ourselves chatting away which was just what we needed following on a busy family christmas. My husband brought down with him the complementary bottle of prosecco from our room and we had a very mellow evening supplemented with some rum and cokes from the bar. Earlier we had dinner in the restaurant where the decor , while spotless and modern, retains all the character with which I remember Clontarf Castle as a young visitor MANY years ago!!! Dining room service was impeccable and the food very tasty. While we did not wish to drink the complementary bottle of wine at the table we were warmly invited to "take it home" with us - how genuinely warm and typically irish!
We were especiall pleased with the room. Spacious, spotless and while modern in that it had all the comforts expected and then some - it was very warmly inviting and we would love to have been staying for longer to enjoy it. Flat screen tv with personalised welcome, tea and coffee making facilities with all the trimmings, discreetly stored iron and board, well-stocked mini bar at very reasonable prices you could ACTUALLY avail of if you wanted a little treat and sure why not- you're on your holidays (even if it is only the one night- it honestly felt like more because there was so much to enjoy)! Special mention of the room lighting- well impressed at the softness of the reading lights at the side of the beds - ample to light your reading material but completely unobtrusive to your bedfellow.
The bathroom was spotless and had ample towels and complimentary toiletries. Plenty of hot water for more than one bath and good pressure in the shower.
Staff, without exception, impeccable.
Bracing walks along the front of the irish sea a stroll's distance from the hotel and some lovely sea-front pubs for a pub-lunch eg. "The Yacht" . Five minute bus-ride to city centre.
Looking forward to return visit so-
Well done the Castle!
If you're looking for the very best in genuine irish hospitality at an affordable price make your reservation now, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Our first stay and made no requests - room we had was perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goyadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm so delighted with your whole review, it's absolutely great to read that you and your husband had such a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed all the different aspects of the hotel like the food, your room, the staff and the decor. Thanks again for giving us such a glowing recommendation, we truely appreciate it and would love to welcome you backk again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I took my partner here for his birthday for the weekend there and he loved it, so did I! Unreal castle features mixed with expensive modern ones. Very tasteful hotel with reasonable prices for dinner etc. We had a wonderful experience and found the staff to be very welcoming and accommodating especially the concierge! I would go back in a heartbeat. The Fahrenheit Grill restaurant and the Knights bar were great. We ate in the hotel both nights which we don't usually do but we just love it so much. The breakfast is great, amazing selection and I loved that we were able to take what we wanted and as much as we wanted! We just kept finding new amazing features all the time.
The city centre is very accessible too, you just have to walk on down the road and get the bus which is only about €2.15 per person and about a 10 minute journey. The Castle is located near the sea, unfortunately when we went the weather wasn't so great so we didn't get to see the area in all it's glory. The hotel is surrounded by a very large residential area so it is nice and quiet round there and is great if you just want to be away from all the hustle and bustle that the city centre brings.

I don't usually take the time to sit and write reviews but that just shows how amazing this place is!!!! This place is a must!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are away from the car park. Even the standard rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review. I'm delighted with all your comments, it's so great to read that you loved the castle itself, the food and the staff. I'm also happy you like the location and I completely agree with you, I think it offers guests the best of both worlds in that they can relax and enjoy a peaceful break in a quite location while also remaining close to the city. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we'd be happy to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,683 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,486 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €117 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing