We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fahrenheit Grill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Had dinner here on Saturday. Have to say it was Fabulous, Staff where very nice and accomadating. Food was out of this world very good range of choices to suit every taste buds. I had the Dublin bay prawns for start and fillet of beef for main followed by white chocolate cheese cake. It was magificent! I would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad you had a wonderful time in our Restaurant Fahrenheit Grill. I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with both the food and the service of our dedicated waiting staff. I do hope we get a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,030)
There are newer reviews for Clontarf Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,186 - 3,190 of 4,030 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in Clontarf castle hotel as part of a deal which included bed and breakfast and a main course and drink in knights bar. Hotel lobby is beautiful but was let down by grumpy and unhelpful receptionist. Went to room which was nice but the carpet was gathered underneath the table and looked very unfinished and untidy. Rang the bar and asked if we needed to book a table for dinner and they assured us no. When we arrived down there was a long wait and we ended up having to share a table with another person. There was only one waitress on our side of the bar dealing with many tables on a busy Friday night which was crazy as we were waiting so long to order and get our plates taken away after. Was very frustrating waiting so long despite there being numerous bar staff behind the bar looking at each other! Breakfast the next day was lovely and redeemed Clontarf castle. Would be an absolutely lovely hotel if service was better and the rooms were finished to a higher standard as the setting is idyllic!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank user2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed for one night in the Clontarf Castle in February--amazing!!! It was the last night of a short trip, but had we known how beautiful it was we would have rearranged our itinerary to spend more time there! Suits of armor greeting you? Tapestries? The original castle tower from the middle ages towering above you? Incredible! We were met by a wonderful host--"Eric"-who gave us a history of the castle, tips on getting into Dublin proper, and generally making us feel welcomed. The one "con" was its distance, from both the closest DART station and from the Temple Bar/Trinity College area. Since we were there for only one night we felt like we lost some valuable time commuting, but that was our doing and not the hotel's. Great room--we were upgraded to a large room on the top floor with a skylight--and the lobby was one of the most appealing I have ever been in. We would definitely return--but for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us and were so impressed with everything especially the décor of the hotel. As you mention we are located just outside of the city, about 10 minutes drive. We do have a DART station near us and the hotel is also regularly serviced by the 130 bus which can get you into the city in about 15 minutes. I am delighted you had such a terrific stay and I do hope I get a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed in one of the refurbished rooms which are a great improvement.

Breakfast is a good spread of full Irish and continental.

The bar and the bar food are both good.

The staff can appear to be distant but are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I booked this hotel after some research with the intention of making a marriage proposal on new years eve and with the help of the concierge Ankhar was able to produce the perfect scene for the proposal which happened on the stroke of midnight and we still managed to make the knights bar for the piper, an excellent hotel well worthy of it's 4 star status, we intend to return for our first wedding anniversary

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room and on new years day we woke to choir like music which proved most uplift...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I was delighted to hear about your special proposal in our hotel and I am so glad our dedicated concierge & staff could assist you with everything. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again for your anniversary.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,564 reviews
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: €126 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing